We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation Canceled, Not Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

At check in the clerk informed me that my reservation had been canceled because the rate quoted was not the rate for "race weekend". Naturally they had no more rooms available at that time. They did offer to send us to another town that had a room. I booked the room through Reserve Travel 09/12 for 8/23/13 & 8/24/13. I don't understand how they can cancel a confirmed reservation just because they didn't get to charge the "rip off race weekend" rate. I have spoken to their corporate office and they told me they should not have cancelled us. They told me it was canceled in May. I suggest you call to confirm you have a room at least a month in advance. My weekend experience started off bad but at least we saw some good racing.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
This particular guest did not stay with us. It was race weekend and we require a valid credit card for the room. We take advanced deposit for the room; however, this guest did not provide a valid credit card. As we tried to process the credit card the card was declined. We tried contacting guest for 2 weeks straight and we got no response; therefore, we were forced to cancel the reservation due to high volume of requests from other guests for reservations. We offered guest to be moved; however, guest was rude and walked out. There was not much we could have done for this particular guest. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience, but did as much possible to help the guest.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel looks new. I would guess 3-7 years old. Entry was clean and check-in was quick. The room was just as described. 2 queen beds separated by a partial wall to a small living room area with a couch which can open to a bed. Room was very clean also!
Breakfast was a little above your typical hotel breakfast of waffles, cereals, and donuts. It also offered biscuits and gravy and omelets!
From the hotel, it was a straight shot down highway 58 to Damascus and all the Virginia Creeper trail bike companies. It took about 10 minutes to get there.
Going the other way on highway 58 brings you right into the historic downtown of Abingdon. Great place to wander around and eat also!
Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. My only small complaint is the pool looks like it was an afterthought. It's very small and oddly shaped right next to the parking lot.Kids still enjoyed it though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank todd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are conveniently located to the Virginia Creeper Trail and very close to historic downtown. Guests love our location. Our hotel is well kept up, and in the near future we are going to remodel the whole hotel. Our Suites are extremely nice considering the room is split into two separate rooms with French doors dividing the room. Our breakfast does offer various items. I agree I wished our pool was much larger; however, it is something we cannot enlarge. Thank again for your review.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here as part of our annual bike trip to the States. We have been here before and made this hotel one of our stops again this year. Very convenient to get to right off the highway. Once again got a hot tub room which was great after a long day of riding. Large room, 1 King bed which was very comfortable. Fireplace, nice clean bathroom, good shower. For you bikers, just turn right out of the parking lot and you are on The Crooked Hwy # 58 and away you go eastbound. Huddle House, convenience store and gas station on the same lot. Front desk staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast area is large, good food in the morning to get you started. Outdoor pool well kept. Parked the bikes under the overhang in view of front desk staff and protected from the elements. One of our favourite hotels. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We have many guests that come to ride their bikes on the Virginia Creeper Trail. We are located quite close to the trail. Our Jacuzzi Suite is our best room. I love the fireplace the most. We can even put your bikes in our maintenance closet for next time. We strive to make our customers pleased with their trips. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you again for your review.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

For 38 years I have attended a family reunion in Abingdon and in recent years have most often stayed for 3 nights at the Quality Inn & Suites, wherer most of our non-local family members stay. Our first night get-together is held in the conference room, where we eat and socialize. This is one of the best motels/hotels in Abingdon. The included hot breakfast is outstanding (scrambled eggs, cheese omlets, sausage gravy and biscuits, bacon, sausage patties, waffles, yogurt, cereals of all types, orange and grape juice, as well as the typical continental breakfast items.
My main criticisms: On Sunday no one came to make my bed all day (a first for me at any property I have ever visited!) and my card key for my room did not work, so that I had to take the elevator back down to the lobby and wait to have it re-programmed. Other improvements should include 1. safe in the room! 2. more tables for the breakfast area. 3. more than the 2 luggage carts. This is a very busy and high-occupancy time, due to the many people attending the Highland Festival activities. Internet connection was slow.

Room Tip: I like the non-smoking rooms on the thirt floor - 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Our conference room benefits many groups with reunions, weddings, sport groups, and etc. It is a nice perk to have for our groups. I agree with you about our breakfast to say it is outstanding. We do always strive to clean our rooms; however, when a guest has a DO NOT DISTURB sign outside the door we are not allowed to enter the room. We will always come and clean your room throughout the day. We are in the process of remodeling the hotel, and I agree we do need more seating area in the breakfast bar. When we do remodel we will put that solution in affect. We do not have space for 3 luggage carts, but will take that in consideration. Again, we appreciate your review. Thank you.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On a recent road trip vacation, we spent one night in Abingdon at the Quality Inn and Suites. The location was very convenient to area attractions. Despite being the most inexpensive hotel on our vacation, it was as comfortable and clean as the other hotels we stayed in during our trip. We had a spacious first-floor room which appeared to be recently updated. The complimentary breakfast offered a nice variety of food, which was kept well-stocked during a busy morning. The selection included eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, bagels, hot and cold cereal, waffle station, donuts, fruit, yogurt, cappuccino, hot chocolate, and coffee. I definitely recommend the Quality Inn and Suites and would stay at this location in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistoryHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We do offer a pretty reasonable price. Our breakfast does offer various items. We hope to see you again. Again, we appreciate your review.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was our first stay here and we will definitely be back. We take a yearly trip and it is a perfect halfway stopping point. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean with more then enough towels/supplies. Breakfast was yummy and the pool was well maintained and very refreshing. Loved that they have it heated so it was welcoming even in the evening! The town is also very cute and was fun to walk around with our younger children. The icing on the cake was that it is right off of the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review. Our guests do enjoy our breakfast and the heated pool is definitely a perk. Abingdon is a great family town and our location is very convenient. Again, thank you for the great review. Look forward to seeing you again.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have stayed here many times on our visits to Barter Theater and have always enjoyed our stays. On a visit in May, our room had a badly frayed area rug over the carpet in front of the sofa. The maintenance man came in and trimmed it with a box cutter. The carpet had a burn under the rug. This stay, we requested a king room with a sofa. The desk clerk said they did not have kings with sofas. We always stay in a king with a sofa and confirmed with housekeeping that they had rooms. When we asked again, the clerk said none of those were available. The desk clerk seemed to be new, poorly trained and lacked customer service. The quality of breakfast is also bad and the selection is poor. The hotel continues to be very clean.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jean y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honesty and your review. We are in the process of training our desk clerks. We have had some new trainees, and are still in the process of training. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience. In addition, we are also in the process of “gutting” each room. We are going to replace furniture and carpet in all rooms along with our lobby. We do have king rooms available; however, we did not have that particular room in inventory. We have also changed our breakfast around some, and in the process of changing companies. We apologize for the terrible experience. We hope you still keep us in mind for your next visit. Thank you for your review.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#10 of 10 in Abingdon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 930 E Main St, I-81 & Highway 58, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £73 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel is ideally located off Interstate 81, just two miles from the Virginia Creeper National Recreation Trail. This Abingdon hotel is convenient to many area attractions and businesses,including Emory & Henry College, Abingdon Cinemall and Johnston Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Abingdon
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing