We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price gouge race weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Worth the $50 we paid on Thursday night. Price went up to $150 Sat and Sun. 3 towels for four people every night even though they were told about it. FLAT pillows. Tub knob missing back plate. Left standing in office every time I went in cause nobody around.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainyWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvi A, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Sujoly,

Hello, thank you for your review. Our hotel rates do go up during the Nascar races in March and August every year, as do all hotels in the Tricities area. Upon looking at your reservation that was made online, our rate of $150.00 was lower in comparsion to hotels that were charging $189.00 and more per night in this area. I wasn't aware that you had 4 people in your room or we would have made sure Housekeeping gave you enough towels daily. We also had a big supply of towels, pillows, blankets & etc. at the Front Desk during your stay and I would have gladly brought any of these items to your room. I apologize that no one was at the Front Desk when you came by, most likely I was taking towels & etc. to one of the guests that called. Have a wonderful day and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Abingdon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

When I stay overnight in a hotel/motel, I want it to be clean, comfortable, bug-free, without a hint of cigarette smoke, which is a terrible asthma trigger for me.
This motel in Abington was easily accessed from the highway, yet did not have the highway noise that other places near I-81 have.
We had no difficulty getting a room at the last minute during the Christmas holiday, and the price was extremely reasonable.
We had a room with a king size bed, which was very comfortable.
The stay included breakfast in the reception area, which is near the front of the motel. There was hot coffee/tea, mini muffins, cereals, and you could make your own hot waffle on the waffle iron in the room.
The staff was friendly and welcoming.
We stayed on the second floor of the building. Each room has an outside entrance. There is no interior entryway. One must go outside to access an ice machine or vending machine, and also, to go to the breakfast room.
The heater warmed up the room efficiently. We received shampoo and bar soap in the room when we arrived, and also the second day when the room was cleaned.
The toilet/bath/shower is in a separate room from the sink, which was in a dressing area as part of the sleeping area.
There was some mildew in the bathroom, but not a significant amount.
The water in the shower was hot, and despite the dated furnishings in the room, the shower head was new and had great water pressure.
The towels were quite small and thin. Barely enough to get dry.
The most disappointing part of the stay was the odor in the room. It was obvious that whatever scent was in the room, it was masking cigarette smoke. The motel is listed as non-smoking. Since it was pouring down rain and cold outside when we visited, I cannot attribute the odor to people smoking outside.
I'm not certain if the smell came from someone breaking the rules and smoking next door or below us, or if the cleaning staff smokes while making up the room. But, it was quite disappointing to have to try to breathe under such conditions.
It is difficult to find an establishment in this area that is truly non-smoking and this is one more disappointment.
At least we didn't pay very much for the room, and the rest of the stay was unremarkable.
If you can get past the smell, this motel is quite satisfactory for an overnight stay, and with breakfast included, the price really cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stay here frequently on our trips through the area. We like building 2 top floor so we can watch the deer play in the field beyond the parking lot. Always quiet and clean and everyone is always smiling. The rooms are clean though a little dated,the internet works great and the tv is wonderful with lots of channels.

Room Tip: building 2 is nice if you like to watch deer play in the fields in the morning or early evening. To...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here one night for a cross country trip. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The room was huge and clean but worn out. Wooden furniture was beat up and carpet was in bad shape. Mattress was comfortable, Humongous old box TV had grainy reception. Towels were thin and rough. Bedspread thin. But the heater worked wonderfully considering it was the night of the "arctic vortex!" Continental breakfast was waffles, toast, muffins and cereal with juice, coffee and tea. Sounds OK but the presentation or something was lacking. I only drink tea and they only had decaf and green. The water made the tea awful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Old, but clean favility. Payed half the price than in other places around. Surprisingly good rooms. I had a good night rest - didn't need more. The have a very fast free internet. Altough close to the interstate, still quiet. And now fourteen characters were missing for the review.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Skywizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here. We had a king room. Good bed, quiet, helpful staff. At check in we were offered hot home made cookies. A staff member rang our room 10 minutes after we arrived to see if we had everything we needed. This is a nice place to stay for a night or two. Can't beat the price

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeof3kgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

All in all, this motel was a good choice. Check in , with reservations, was a breeze. Very tasty, just baked cookies awaited us, and the counter person was most friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, although worn. Bathroom was clean with great water pressure. The bed was comfortable. The only downside was the noise from the diesel trucks warming up outside our room very early in the morning. The motel , evidently, is used quite a bit by workmen traveling to the area, arising early to go to work. Breakfast was OK, but a little sparse. Friendly, helpful staff, a clean room and a great price, made this a good choice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
183 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
183 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Abingdon

Address: 887 Empire Drive, Abingdon, VA 24210
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £48 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn Abingdon 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet-friendly, family-friendly Red Roof Inn Abingdon, is located in Abingdon, VA a town rich in history and was first named Wolf Hills by famed frontiersman Daniel Boone in 1760. Abingdon is also host to several annual festivals including Plum Alley Day, Virginia Highlands Festival and the Washington County Fair. Nearby natural attractions include the Virginia Creeper Trail, Backbone Recreation Area, South Holston Lake and the Virginia Creeper Fly-Fishing Guides. Not the nature type? Catch a movie at Abingdon Cinemall, enjoy a live performance at the Barter Theatre, play a round of golf at Glenrochie Country Club, or experience the thrill of stock car racing at Bristol Motor Speedway. Other nearby attractions include Pinnacle Shopping Center, Clear Creek Golf Club, Heartwood Art Center, Emory & Henry College and Meadowview Conference & Convention Center. Guests also enjoy a wide array of local cuisine including Cracker Barrel, The Tavern, Wolf Hills Brewing Company, Rain Restaurant, Harbor House Seafood & Steak, and 128 Pecan. The Red Roof Inn Abingdon invites our guests to start their day off right with our free continental breakfast, and to enjoy complimentary coffee-house style coffee and tea in our lobby. Corporate travelers will appreciate the convenience of our fax and copy services. Our guests enjoy the comfort and privacy of rooms which feature free WiFi, and flat-screen TV with cable TV including HBO and ESPN. Select rooms offer in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, complimentary local calls, desk with lamp, and wake-up service. As always, one well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing