We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A destination that always delivers.”
Review of Barter Theatre

Barter Theatre
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 3 miles from I-81, exit 17 in the heart of Abingdon, Virginia. Founded in 1933, Barter Theatre offers professional, repertory theatre, 17-19 productions per year, and two unique stages: Barter Main Stage and Barter Stage II. Recognized as the premiere theatre in the region, Barter launched the careers of such notable actors as Gregory Peck, Patricia Neal and Ernest Borgnine. Enjoy classics, comedies, dramas and Broadway musicals. Group rates and packages with fine Abingdon restaurants and lodging available. Stop in The Barter Café and gift shop. Open Feb. – Dec. Call or go on-line for performance schedule.
Shenandoah Valley VA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A destination that always delivers.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The quality of the performances, the intimacy of the theaters, and the inexpensiveness of the tickets.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    95
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Follow the yellow brick road to The Barter”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Abingdon. Lucky for me The Wizard Of Oz was playing. One of my all time favorite movies. The actors and actresses were fantastic. What talent these young people have. Not only can they act, but their singing was phenomenal. I could easily see some of them moving on to Broadway in NY. We were on the second row on the side in the balcony and they were great seats.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GGG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great show at the Barter”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We've been to the theater twice and both performances were great! Timing of intermissions is good and all the staff is polite and welcoming. Nice to see a great live show in a historic theater!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I have been to the Barter on several occasions, and it never gets old. We have thoroughly enjoyed each show. This is a must see attraction for theater lovers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Family Entertainment”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my first trip to Abingdon, Va. and to the Barter Theater. We saw Welcome Back to Ivy Gap and it was great. The cast of 5 were very professional, prepared and perfect for their parts. Tuesday evenings are bargain prices which made it more enticing.

I can't wait to go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barter Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Barter Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing