We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I was expecting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heartwood Restaurant

Heartwood Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 89 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

When we walked into Heartwood we were excited about trying out the restaurant as it smelled so good but were disappointing in the final product. Wasn't as good as we had hoped but willing to try it again next visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bodyhealer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local Foods Made With Fine Dining Flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband and I booked with Heartwood for Valentines Day and WOW! I was met my the hostess and given a long stem red rose and a gift bag with two wine glasses. The food was from local farmers and prepared by the chef. The Crooked Road provided entertainment, while we ate by candlelight. The desert was wonderful and the chef made his rounds to each table to make sure everyone enjoyed the meal. Can't wait to eat there again, a foodies Gem for sure!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtravelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local produce, Local Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Sunday Brunch, or anytime they always have something local on the menu, an Angus Burger or Pork Tenderloin are always excellent, I eat there often. Nice setting and responsive wait staff, my daughter says they have the best Mac & Cheeseshe has ever had. Overall always a very good dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Gospel Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Great selection of dishes and an omelet bar. Some of the best grits around. Desserts are wonderful. Easy to seat a group of 12 after church.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch: A Wonderful Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Heartwood Restaurant off of exit 14 is one of the best restaurants around. The atmosphere is calm and cozy, the food service director is very knowledgeable and helpful, and the Chef is great!

We came for the Sunday Brunch. Granted that it is $19.00 each, this was a treat for us.

We got there early (10;15 a.m.) and was the first people there. We were promptly seated. The waitress really didn't seem awake yet, I guess. She brought us out our drinks and said help yourself. We went up to look at EVERYTHING they had. WOW! There's something for everyone. One bar had fresh cheeses, fruit, salad. Another bar had the breakfast pastries such as the best cinnamon rolls I've ever had. Biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, etc. were here too. Another bar had more of the lunch items. The Chicken and Dumplings, though the sauce was a little thin, had more chicken than dumplings. But, the dumplings were so fully, I wanted more of that!

They have a chef cooking fresh omelets and another lunch dish (which was pork stir fry.) He’s very friendly and even gave me a few tips on how to make the best omelet.

The desserts were not labeled, like one review said, but they were freshly made and had a really good flavor. They even have a chocolate dipping station (not sure what the high class folks call that.)

The Food Service Director asked a few times if we had everything we needed or if he could do something for us (more than our waitress). He explained a little bit about how the restaurant involves the local farmers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heartwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Heartwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing