We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to eat while browsing”

Heartwood Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 92 Restaurants in Abingdon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had lunch here with my wife while shopping. The sandwiches were fine; the service a little slow and distracted; but a tour bus had pulled up simultaneously. Cafeteria atmosphere detracts from the restaurant arrangement but not bad. The place is interesting to browse but no bargain! An upscale tourist trap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank giaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent visit to Heartwood. Distracted service is certainly not the standard to which we hold our team accountable. I have forwarded your comments to our entire team so that we may improve.
We hope that if you travels bring you back to Abingdon that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Heartwood Dining Room and offer a wonderful dining experience.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I enjoyed a fresh and bountiful Thanksgiving Day Buffet at Heartwood. The serving staff were courteous and accommodating.Debby did a outstanding job. The food was fresh and well prepared. Have to give a thumbs up on the fresh prepared Crab Cakes. Standard fares of turkey and ham. Their version of cream corn, sweet potatoes and dressing was all excellent. Such a treat! Plenty of options for vegetarians. Desserts were fresh and seemingly made with real cream and sugar. I enjoyed the warm peach cobbler with creamy ice. Excellent price for the value and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dillard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Happy Holidays! We are thrilled that you enjoyed Thanksgiving at Heartwood, and we are happy to report that we've passed along your compliments to Debby. We hope to see you back soon.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This was maybe my 3rd time eating here but the first time in a year or so. Since then they have turned the once cafeteria style eatery into a sit down restaurant with much different menu options. I opted for the chicken salad which lacked flavor & was far too mayonnaisey, another member of our group got the grilled cheese which was a triple layer of bread, cheese & bacon which was lacking flavor. The other member got the Appalachian Ham sandwich which they said was really good.
We were waited on fairly quick yet we probably waited over 45 mins to get our food then we rarely saw our waitress & had to go search for her so we could pay & finally get back to work.
If you want to eat here on a lunch break, I would suggest calling ahead so your order is waiting for you otherwise you'll be late getting back to work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bodyhealer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your continued visits to Heartwood, and for offering your feedback. Please accept our apologies that we have left you disappointed. I have forwarded your comments to our entire team so that we may use them to learn and grow - and also to increase speed of service in order to better serve our lunch guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited the Heartwood Shopping area and decided to eat while waiting for a Gospel
Concert next door. The food was good but the service was slow. I think they were short two waitresses. The live music was good and the place is very new and clean. We would go here again to eat and watch the live music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GPS-RDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We arrived in Virginia to visit points of interest along the Crooked Road (alot of Bluegrass and Old Time Music). Fortunately we found Heartwood offering its Thursday night feature of local musicians jaming along with a nice dinner. The four of us each had a different entree and enjoyed the meal. However, the desert selection (along with the music) made the evening for us. Two other smaller groups of musicians were jamming in area away from the main dining area - all made very good bluegrass music. The service was very good and all the people there were very friendly. Buiding also has a very nice (but pricey) gift shop area and a bakery area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heartwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Heartwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing