We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JJ's Restaurant & Sports Bar

JJ's Restaurant & Sports Bar
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coeburn, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have eaten at JJ's several times during the past year and its always good. The restaurant is divided into two seating areas; a dining room and the Sports Bar section. My visits have always been during lunch and I have never noticed any loud TV noise, etc. from the bar section. In fact, this place seems to cater to business customers and families. The acoustics are a little "tinny", but the restaurant is always clean and the dining room is pleasantly appointed. Most importantly the food is always good.

My favorites are the pork chops with gravy, real mashed potatoes, and cole slaw. The country steak and gravy was excellent but is no longer available because the chef says he can't find suitable quality tenderized steak and refuses to serve an inferior product. (Many of us hope he will return it to the menu.) The sandwiches and fried osyters are all good and the Mac-n-Cheese is worthy of a Blue Ribbon.

Good food, good service, and reasonable prices all make JJ's a winner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginian052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We've been here twice in the last week and had the burgers and honey BBQ wings. The wings were fantastic and flavorful, not like those tiny little over cooked wings at the chain restaurants. Their burgers are excellent and the toppings are well done. The second time we went, my burger was under done, but the general manager came over, had another burger prepared or me and as a gesture of goodwill, offered me a dessert. Now, that's just plain outstanding customer service and greatly appreciated. I am a loyal JJ's customer for life! Thank you for being the great restaurant that works extra hard to please your customers with great food and service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coolbeans4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluefield, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was pretty good but some of the descriptions were inaccurate. We ordered the pretzel bread crostini with beer cheese dip as an appetizer and received a large dry pretzel atop a bed of nacho chips with the cheese dip. Crostini to me is sliced bread rounds toasted. We asked for additional chips because the pretzel was so dry and unappealing and the waitress obliged. The shrimp appetizer is very good. The blend of garlic and lemon in the scampi sauce is divine. I ordered the spaghetti and thought that the marinara was a bit sweet but the garlic bread was terrific. My friend ordered the grilled meatloaf and thought it was very good as well as the fresh veggies sauted on the grill. The gravy for the meatloaf and mashed potatoes was also good. The dessert chef had been ill so we didn't have much to chose from for dessert - just carrot cake. But there were pies that were still too hot to order - we were there early. Overall, I would go back and try again. It was good but it was hit and miss for us on this first visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ragamuffingurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Must get the Shrimp Appetizer! Everything was Surprisingly Very Good!
Service, food, manager stopped by the table. Beer VERY cold.
Next time driving through will stop again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had the Black and Bleu burger and was very impressed. The food and prices are great! The servers were also very good. They all seem to work as a team and take care of the customers even when it is very busy. Great place to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sun_fun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JJ's Restaurant & Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Restaurant & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing