We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We absolutely Love the Copper Lantern Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper Lantern Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We absolutely Love the Copper Lantern Inn”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We came to Abingdon to ride the Virginia Creeper. We found the Copper Lantern on
TripAdvisor. We had the best stay ever at a B&B. From the moment we called Betty we were treated like family. They took care of all our dinner reservations and told us where to rent bikes. They recommended places in town for us to visit which were great. Upon arrival Kim treated us like family. She waited on us and fed us the best gourmet appetizers we have ever eaten. We felt like we were at home. Kim is awesome and the Inn is beautiful. Jackson and Beulah, Kim's dogs were an extra special treat for us. The front porch was so relaxing that we spend both evenings sitting out there enjoying the fresh air. Breakfast each morning was a real treat. I have never seen my husband eat so much. Kim thinks of everything. She even packed us snacks for the Creeper Trail. We did not want to leave. The rooms are beautiful and the bedding is exquisite. We stayed in the Washington Suite which was breathtaking. We have already scheduled a trip back just to stay at the the Inn and visit with Kim and Betty. We loved our experience. T and T from North Carolina

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
151
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Copper Lantern made our stay in Abingdon an amazing experience! We loved the inn and greatly appreciated all of the care and hospitality that Kim, Betty and their staff put into making our trip so special. They took care of our every need from arranging dinner reservations to booking seats at the Barter Theater to preparing an amazing gourmet breakfast It was truly an incredible experience! We can’t wait to come back to stay at the inn for an extended period of time. This is the only place to stay if you are coming to Abingdon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weddington52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. They booked reservations for us at restaurants and helped get us discounts at the Barter theater and the Virginia Creeper trail. We stayed in the Washington suite which had a king sized bed (very soft) and a huge bathroom with a copper tub and a walkin shower. There was no TV in the room, but there is one in the living room downstairs. They made up a goody bag with water, apples, and trail bars for us to take on the Creeper trail. This came in quite handy!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank awesome1jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowview, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding...I cannot say enough good things about the Inn and those precious ladies! Betty and Kim made sure everything was just perfect for us, they left us balloons, champagne with strawberries, a cake, fresh white and pink peonies (which were our wedding flowers and colors!) and a little card congratulating us! We stayed in the Washington Suite and it was perfection...from the copper tub, to the massive walk-in shower, and the bed that slept like a dream. Our breakfast was delicious....banana fosters pancakes, fresh fruit, and bacon...we woke up to the wonderful aroma filling the house! We are from the area, only 15 minutes down the road, but we WILL for sure be back!

Love,
The Weavers :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was our first overnight visit to Abingdon, VA and after searching B&Bs in the area I called the Copper Lantern Inn and spoke with Betty. Immediately I was drawn to her very pleasing personality on the phone and looked forward to meeting her. Well, we were not disappointed. Betty, Roy and Kimberly were the ultimate hosts! GREAT folks who have the gift of knowing how to entertain their guests. We immediately felt at home as we enjoyed conversation and cheese/crackers on the front porch of their beautiful home. The Inn is beautifully decorated as well as the grounds and we thoroughly enjoyed listening to Betty explain how the themes of each room. I particularly enjoyed the Capt. Roy Aker's Military Room that Kimberly dedicated in honor of her Father. As for breakfast, it was a group effort on the part of Betty, Roy and Kimberly and they out did themselves. It was awesome and was the first time we had tried lightly fried thick sliced tomatoes in olive oil which were delicious. This was truly five star accommodations and dining at its best! We look forward to our next visit to Copper Lantern Inn and enjoying more of the uniqueness that Abingdon, VA has to offer.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house; however, we stayed in the Washington Room which was simply the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband was planning a special weekend to celebrate our anniversary, and the original centerpiece of our weekend was a bike ride on the Creeper Trail. But after doing his research, (and he is a very meticulous researcher) the Inn quickly became the central point of a lovely weekend away. Betty became our impromptu travel agent, helping plan some lovely dinners and finding a bike outfitter that was only blocks from the inn. From the moment we got there, Betty and Kim made us feel like family, although truthfully they fed us way better than my family usually does, no offense MMom! From welcoming snacks and drinks when we staggered in from our long drive, to incredible breakfasts to fortify us for biking or hiking, to water bottles and granola bars for the trail, they made sure we were never hungry or thirsty. And although they could't prevent us from being tired after our expeditions, the inn itself is the most marvelous place to rest and rejuvenate! Our room had an amazing copper lined soaking tub that is truly the most comfortable tub this long-legged girl has ever been in, and I actually fell asleep, briefly, listening to the late afternoon rain patting on the roof and gazing out the window at the beautiful garden. There are wonderful little nooks to read and relax in, the decor is in that sweet spot where it is neither spare nor fussy, the bed is comfortable without swallowing you, and altogether, we decided that the Copper Lantern Inn, and the wonderful innkeepers, were the main reason to consider a second visit to this charming corner of Virgina.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Upon first entering the inn, we were greeted by happy dogs and warm hosts. We immediately felt at home and the stress meter went to zero. The setting is beautiful as is the 1873 house. Breakfast was delicious and creative each day. Wine and hors d'oeuvres on the front porch reminded us of the advantages of a slower paced life. A truly romantic and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Lantern Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

Property: Copper Lantern Boutique Inn
Address: 133 Valley St NE, Abingdon, VA 24210-2832
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Lantern Boutique Inn is a haven away from home. Built in 1873, the inn is located on East Valley Street in the Heart of Abingdon and is within walking distance of all the local major attractions. This Georgian Colonial is decorated in a warm and comfortable, yet elegant style. It is a place of real Southern hospitality with all of the luxurious amenities and comforts of the modern day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing