We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Tailor's Lodging
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Abingdon)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
44
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack dogseparate cottagecreeper trailthe blue roombarter theatersusanrickwealthkeurigcabincharmcomfortaccommodationsplay
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here on the advice of a local shopkeeper and was blown away by the inn and the owners. I was met by Susan who suggested the downstairs room (room #2) but was also shown the upstairs room as well. The upstairs room has a bathroom with claw foot tub and shower combo which is no doubt nice after a trip on the Creeper Trail. The detached cabin was being held for early arrivers the next day. The downstairs room was wonderful with a separate bath and dressing area. There was an impressive collection of DVDs in the room along with a large LCD TV in a lovely armoire. The upstairs and downstairs porches with ceiling fans and wicker furniture beckon you to enjoy the sounds of the swallows who reside in the belfry of the nearby Episcopal church.

The owners, Susan and Rick, shared champagne and stories of the people and past of Abingdon and the work that they and the town are doing to preserve and promote the heritage of the town. They are both wonderful people who made me feel at ease and as if I were an old friend stopping by after long while apart. If you are a lover of history, this is the place for you. The inn is a short walk from the Virginia Creeper Trail, the Tavern and Rain restaurants and Wines of Distinction gourmet shop. Ask about the Wolf Hills Brewing Company down the road. They are open for tastings on Tuesdays and Thursdays and are worth a visit as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarlandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

For this British (actually Scottish) traveller, A Tailor's Lodging was a revelation, a showcase of traditional America that the visitor to the US rarely gets to see. Rick and Susan as well as being warm and entertaining hosts, have an amazing eye for antiquities, and the place is as good to look at as it is comfortable to stay in. Any visitor in search of a journey back in time as well as through this beautiful part of the USA has to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colindonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

A Tailor's Lodging consists of two rooms within the original 1800's house and an additional cottage that was once a tailor's shop. Having seen all three choices and having stayed in the cottage, I would recommend that particular space. The cottage also hosts a small frig and microwave. Breakfast is NOT served to any of the spaces, although coffee is available in all three.

The owners are off-premises, which has its advantages and disadvantages. There is advertised wi-fi, but it was spotty at best (also experienced by guests in the main house). The three spaces open onto a very nice and convenient courtyard with plenty of seating. All in all, we would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Abingdon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groetjespam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We just got back from a two night stay at this wonderful place. It is a fantastic renovation of a manor house. Beautiful attention to historic details while being modern in every way. We stayed in cottage #3, which is by itself away from the main house. It has a fireplace, small kitchen area with refrigerator, nice bathroom. Wine, coffee and other refreshments are provided by the owners. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in away from home. The room was quiet and peaceful and lovely. We were so peaceful while there we never even thought to look inside the cabinet on the wall to see what was inside until the morning we were leaving. We were pleasantly surprised to see a flat screen tv with cd and dvd player. We chose not to eat breakfast there so can't speak to that (we were given a discount off our room rate). The owners are extremely accommodating, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. If they don't know the answer they get on the phone and find out for you. Highly recommended. We did the Va creeper while there--not to be missed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Abingdon is a great little town with the Barter Theatre to satisfy cultural longings and the Creeper Trail to keep one in shape. But one of the great features of this historic place is the restored B and B named after long-ago tailors who inhabited it. But they wouldn't recognize the place since it is so beautifully restored. We stayed in the downstairs room which was quite large. We fell in love with the shower, with its walls of stone and dark basin. The kitchen was a work of art, with detailed craftsmanship on the new cabinets to match an antique sideboard. Really unusual attention to detail. We'd certainly pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews