We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Tailor's Lodging

A Tailor's Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Tailor's Lodging
Ranked #3 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
nashville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We vacationed at 16 different inns on this trip. This inn was our favorite because the rooms are beautiful and the owner's are friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The town is very quaint, historic and we loved bicycling the Virginia Creeper Trail. We'll be back with friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

A Tailor's Lodging is a stunning B&B with vintage period details highlighted by the impeccible taste of the owners. The master suite with private entrance and patio offers a sumptious poster bed, lovely stone floors and an amazing rock shower. My husband and I appreciated the ample amenities provided in the bathroom:) The location of A Tailor's Lodging is in the heart of Abingdon close to the Barter Theatre, the Tavern, the Virginia Creeper Trail and other area attractions. Although the B&B does not offer breakfast, visitors are encouraged to make coffee or tea in the well appointed kitchen and The Trail Cafe is right around the corner for a delicious, well priced meal. If you're in Abingdon, please consider A Tailor's Lodging for your stay because you'll love the experience and the owners go out of their way to make your stay very memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ONtoNCtoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Va
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Tiny Inn in Abingdon, Virginia. We went with another couple and had the whole house to ourselves, since there are only two rooms in the main house. I loved the side porch with the wicker furniture. Very convenient to the Creeper Trail, Bike Shop and Barter Theatre. They don't make breakfast, but offer a discount and the Trail cafe is right around the corner. Beautifully restored early 1800s house.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florencia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here on the advice of a local shopkeeper and was blown away by the inn and the owners. I was met by Susan who suggested the downstairs room (room #2) but was also shown the upstairs room as well. The upstairs room has a bathroom with claw foot tub and shower combo which is no doubt nice after a trip on the Creeper Trail. The detached cabin was being held for early arrivers the next day. The downstairs room was wonderful with a separate bath and dressing area. There was an impressive collection of DVDs in the room along with a large LCD TV in a lovely armoire. The upstairs and downstairs porches with ceiling fans and wicker furniture beckon you to enjoy the sounds of the swallows who reside in the belfry of the nearby Episcopal church.

The owners, Susan and Rick, shared champagne and stories of the people and past of Abingdon and the work that they and the town are doing to preserve and promote the heritage of the town. They are both wonderful people who made me feel at ease and as if I were an old friend stopping by after long while apart. If you are a lover of history, this is the place for you. The inn is a short walk from the Virginia Creeper Trail, the Tavern and Rain restaurants and Wines of Distinction gourmet shop. Ask about the Wolf Hills Brewing Company down the road. They are open for tastings on Tuesdays and Thursdays and are worth a visit as well.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarlandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

For this British (actually Scottish) traveller, A Tailor's Lodging was a revelation, a showcase of traditional America that the visitor to the US rarely gets to see. Rick and Susan as well as being warm and entertaining hosts, have an amazing eye for antiquities, and the place is as good to look at as it is comfortable to stay in. Any visitor in search of a journey back in time as well as through this beautiful part of the USA has to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colindonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

A Tailor's Lodging consists of two rooms within the original 1800's house and an additional cottage that was once a tailor's shop. Having seen all three choices and having stayed in the cottage, I would recommend that particular space. The cottage also hosts a small frig and microwave. Breakfast is NOT served to any of the spaces, although coffee is available in all three.

The owners are off-premises, which has its advantages and disadvantages. There is advertised wi-fi, but it was spotty at best (also experienced by guests in the main house). The three spaces open onto a very nice and convenient courtyard with plenty of seating. All in all, we would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Abingdon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groetjespam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

We just got back from a two night stay at this wonderful place. It is a fantastic renovation of a manor house. Beautiful attention to historic details while being modern in every way. We stayed in cottage #3, which is by itself away from the main house. It has a fireplace, small kitchen area with refrigerator, nice bathroom. Wine, coffee and other refreshments are provided by the owners. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in away from home. The room was quiet and peaceful and lovely. We were so peaceful while there we never even thought to look inside the cabinet on the wall to see what was inside until the morning we were leaving. We were pleasantly surprised to see a flat screen tv with cd and dvd player. We chose not to eat breakfast there so can't speak to that (we were given a discount off our room rate). The owners are extremely accommodating, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. If they don't know the answer they get on the phone and find out for you. Highly recommended. We did the Va creeper while there--not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Tailor's Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tailor's Lodging

Property: A Tailor's Lodging
Address: 119 Park St SE, Abingdon, VA 24210-3309
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing