We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Birches Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Abingdon(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Abingdon)
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
95
11
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
11
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchb bcookiesfish pondgracious hostswhirlpool tubtennessee williamsbarter theaterwarm weathersitting areabed was very comfortabletwo night staywonderful breakfastgreat amenitiesfellow guestswithin walking distancefeel right at home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We live in Florida in the winter and for the other part of the year we live above Roanoke Va. We visited with another couple White Birches in Abingdon. We've been to a lot of B&B's and White Birches is definitely in the top tier. The innkeepers were the most gracious and friendly hosts imaginable and they were the very model of gracious hospitality. Every inch of their home is beautiful and the breakfasts were wonderful. We hope to return next year to this outstanding inn.

Room Tip: Thornton Wilder Room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I echo the other glowing comments about the White Birches Inn. We don't live far away but we just wanted to get away from everything. We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners are so gracious and served a fabulous breakfast. The grounds are fabulous . The fish pond and waterfall are so relaxing to the senses. Afternoon glass of wine was made even more enjoyable by stimulating conversations with other guests.. We stayed in the Shaw room, which was perfect because of my husband's recent knee surgery .The owners were very careful to tell us where restaurants were and kept menus available to be reviewed. We highly recommend White Birches Inn.

Room Tip: The Shaw room was very quiet and on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed in another B&B in Abingdon before but this time I chose the White Birches. We were greeted by Paulette and Mike at the door and they showed us around the Inn. It was decorated exceptionally well with wonderful antiques and many oriental rugs. They showed us the very comfortable outside porch and lush garden which was landscaped so beautifully that I could have stayed there forever.They then took us to our room, the George Bernard Shaw Room which was on the first floor. It had a wonderful four poster canopy bed, fireplace and in the bathroom a whirlpool tub. We just loved everything. The breakfasts were
excellant and the wine on the porch in the evening made it a very romantic touch.This B&B is not one to pass up. It is truly OUTSTANDING in every way. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I found ours on their website.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We absolutely loved staying at White Birches and we have stayed at many. Paulette & Michael helped us with Barter Theater tickets and the VA creeper trail. The Noel Coward Room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The grounds were fabulous. We will definaately come back. thank you

Room Tip: Noel Coward room was beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We thought the innkeepers hovered over us whenever we were in the public areas.
We thought the food was stingy. China and silver do not make up for poor food.
Our innkeeper did get us theatre tickets and then charged us the 12% food and lodging tax on the tickets, which would not have happened had we bought directly from the Barter Theater, which we did for 2 more shows.
The grounds and the rooms are beautiful, but that did not make up for the negative aspects of the B & B experience.

Room Tip: Our room was small and over furnished. There was no place to put anything.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sophie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grateman, Owner at White Birches Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

I remember these guests and was under the impression that their stay was enjoyable. that is what they told us when they left.
I don't understand the term "hovering". We always make it a point to spend time chatting with guests in the mornings over coffee or in the afternoon when they're having wine or other beverages. Our guests appreciate access to the innkeepers, as they gain insight into restaurants and places to visit. Guests are very aware that this is not always the case in B&B's.
As to "stingy food," we do not serve an"all you can eat buffet". We serve a sit-down breakfast in the formal dining room, as noted on our website. I suppose if you had an extraordinary appetite, anything less than a buffet would be considered "stingy".
Barter Theatre gives all lodging facilities a fixed price & if one goes on-line to buy tickets the fee is higher because of a preservation fee and service charge per ticket.
These particular guests were traveling with another couple and wanted to see an additional show. I told them it would be less money to buy the additional tickets at the box office because it was a morning show (10:30 am) geared to students and the cost would be $11/ticket. If we bought the tickets they would have been $27/ticket because morning shows are on a different theatre package. These guests were delighted when I gave them this information. So their comment about ticket prices is very confusing to me.
They stayed in our least expensive room at $159/night. It can be viewed on line and has 2 wing chairs, a queen size bed, 2 night stands, a luggage rack, a window seat for additional luggage, a closet with four shelves and an in-room private bath. Amenities included cookies, Hershey Kisses, complimentary wine,unlimited soft drinks, bottled water and juices of which they chose to help themselves when they left. Also included in the rate is a full sit-down breakfast. We also extended these guests an "early check-in" option of 1 pm.
Even though I am well aware of human nature.......I'm always saddened when we cannot please everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews