We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of White Birches Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Birches Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2013

To be honest, we thought that the owners were a bit unfriendly, but this place is very beautiful and in an excellent location. I'm not sure if I would stay here again because it definitely seemed that all of the other guests were older and we felt a bit out of place. The breakfast provided was good, and there was coffee available early in the morning which made me happy! Certainly everything is clean and well looked after. The house is well decorated and charming. There is a lovely deck to relax on and it was especially beautiful when we were there because the leaves were changing.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank lmpulfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Mike and Paulette were just great. This was our first B&B experience and as I had always imaged White Birch was the perfect picture I had painted. Beautiful, wonderful location, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, great conversation. They were both so helpful acclamating us to the area. This is just the perfect B&B to stay at in Abbington. We had such a beautiful weekend and White Birch was a major factor in it. Thanks to both of them. Hope to see u again


Susan and Ray Dunlow, Reidsville, NC

Room Tip: Tennessee Williams Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249susand249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We felt very 'at home' at White Birches.The property is beautiful and very conveniently located to downtown, as well as one of our favorite walks, Plum Alley. The innkeepers Paula and Michael were very helpful in suggesting things to do, and they made our two night stay very comfortable. Loved the breakfast enough to bring home one of Paula's recipes. A memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grave_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Easy to find, great location within walking distance to town, warm and inviting rooms & home as were the owners, Michael and Paulette. We felt welcome to spend time anywhere in the home and were encouraged to let them know if we had any needs. We sincerely enjoyed the variety of guests and their conversations. We couldn't have chosen a better way or place to be married (by Michael) and to spend our first night as husband and wife! Thank you Michael and Paulette...you are forever in our warm memories!

Room Tip: The Porterfield Room was very cozy and had it's own private in-room bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylmarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

As a quick stop, White Birches proved to be a perfect location. The home had charm and was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and I had a lovely, friendly chat with the owners. My room was comfortable, so much so I wanted to stay in bed all day. There are nice, personal touches throughout the house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasulubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was my second visit to White Birches for business travel. Once again, I enjoyed the hospitality of Paulette and Michael. The rooms are beautiful, the hospitality welcoming and the recommendations for restaurants and exploring helpful. White Birches is a short walk to some fabulous food and it's a lovely place to return to each evening!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracehappens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Second visit this year.....this time to celebrate an anniversary. The inn is lovely, comfortable, and welcoming. Paulette accomodates in every way and, as my husband says, "spoils us." Abingdon has lots to do, and the White Birches Inn is the place to stay!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Porterfield and in the Noel Coward and have peeked in all of the rooms. All ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.7 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
Summerfield Inn
Summerfield Inn
#7 of 16 in Abingdon
17 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Inn

Address: 268 Whites Mill Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-2900
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: £119 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Birches Inn is the only bed & breakfast in Abingdon, VA that can offer you a king-size bed, in-room fireplace, oversized whirlpool tub, and a private walk-in tiled shower. Our personalized service and luxurious accommodations are a wonderfully inviting alternative to typical hotel lodging.Complementary beverages which include beer and wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing