We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat place to stay in a neat town.”
Review of White Birches Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Birches Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A neat place to stay in a neat town.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this inn. It is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the Barter Theater. Our room was spacious and clean. Cookies, soda, beer and wine with the room don't hurt either. Breakfast was very good. My only complaint is that another towel bar is needed in the bathroom.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    11
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first stay at the White Birches Inn. The innkeepers, Paulette and Michael, were warm, gracious, helpful and easy going. The other guests were friendly and we enjoyed drinks with them on the back porch by the koi pond. The home, which is over 100 years old, is charming and beautifully decorated. The field of bleating lambs beyond the back yard added to the ambiance of a stately country home. Everything in town is within walking distance. We were very comfortable there and will return.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in the Thornton Wilder room. Quite, with pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

White Birch Inn has the ambience of a comfortable home with a spash of formality. The Innkeepers, Paulette and Michael, makes one feel right at home. Conversation with them made us feel as if we've known them for years. The Inn itself, as explained to me, was built in 1901 and started out as a single family home. The latest renovation, turned the home into an excellent Bed and Breakfast. The back porch area with comfortable seating and the koi pond makes for a relaxing conversation area. With a glass of complimentary wine for the guests, all that is needed is good conversation which Michael and Paulette easily provide. The room we reserved was smallish, but was quite nice. With my bad back, I really enjoyed the comfortable bed. The dishes of Hershey Kisses and cookies was a nice touch too. Paulette's breakfast of French Toast (sliced french baguette) baked and served with an apricot syrup along with a side of sausage hit the spot. We'll definitely be back....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNDINER-BILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As I said to the innkeepers; some folks stay at the White Birches Inn so they can visit Abingdon. I visit Abingdon just so I can stay at the White Birches. I've visited four or five times and each time the hospitality, warmth and comfort have been exceptional. Paulette and Michael know the area so very well and are able to give great recommendations on places to see, visit and dine. The inn is so beautifully furnished and so wonderfully cozy; it's a destination in itself. I am already plotting my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

For our third straight year, my wife and I stayed at White Birches Inn to attend the Spring Bristol NASCAR Races. We thoroughly enjoy staying here, and it is a nice relaxing escape from our daily busy life. The home has a beautiful décor and is well kept. We wish we had more time to relax at their home, but our free time is limited due to the race schedule. They have a calming back porch which is furnished with couches, chairs, music, and an overall nice setting. They have a serene walkway out back along with a coy pond and constant running water.

The owners, Mike and Paulette, are always kind and welcoming hosts to their home. They always give us a tour of where everything is located in their home, and make sure we know how to find and operate things in our room. We enjoy our engaging conversations with them during our stay. They provide us with complementary drinks in their guest refrigerator, and also a glass of wine or a beer daily for those who like such refreshment. They always update us on the Restaurants in Abingdon and provide us with a map. There are many good locally owned non-franchise restaurants which we try to support when in town. This year we went to 128 Main, Wild Flour, and Bellas.

The last two years we stayed in the Porterfield Room. It has a King bed and a sitting area with three chairs. It also has a fireplace which we did not use the last two years because there was warm weather.
The bathroom had a nice spa tub and a nice tiled shower. The King size bed was comfy.

This year we stayed in the Tennessee Williams Room. We loved it as well. It has one stand alone chair and a very comfortable love seat. The King sized sleigh bed was again very comfortable. The bathroom was nice, again with a shower and a spa tub. The bath towels are so thick and luxurious. We did use the fireplace this year since it was much colder this year in the evenings.

The rooms are always very clean and well maintained. They are furnished with chocolate kisses, which are replenished every day. They also have a plate with chocolate covered cookies. There is also wireless internet which meets our needs. The TV’s are 19” diagonal flat screens connected to the local cable which are big enough for our use, since we are not here just to watch TV.

We always look forward to the breakfast time. We enjoy having conversation with the others who are staying at the B&B, and of course Mike and Paulette keep the conversation moving. There are always others going to the Bristol races and we enjoy comparing notes about the race experience. The breakfast is always presented beautifully and is in an elegant setting with a beautiful candle lit center piece and beautiful china. The orange marmalade French toast is unusual, but very delicious. All the meals we have had were very good, and fresh fruit is always a plus.

We look forward to returning in 2015!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Some have a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twwintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our favorite innkeepers ever! This B&B was outstanding... everyone should experience it. Many other B&Bs have two chairs in the rooms, but our room, the Tennessee Williams room, had a couch opposite the fireplace...and a comfortable couch, at that! The king-size bed and bedding were heaven, the robes were plush, and the floors were adorned with gorgeous rugs. Meals were served with fine china, linens, and silver...along with engaging, comfortable conversation. Five stars is not high enough!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlackLabLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlbourgeois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd b&b during a five night trip in Virginia and wow the standards are set high here! All gracious welcoming hosts. All great amenities like sweets in your room, complimentary wine, incredible breakfasts, jacuzzi tubs and great locations!
Love the location and the wonderful opps to walk around

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mlbourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.7 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Inn

Property: White Birches Inn
Address: 268 Whites Mill Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-2900
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Birches Inn is the only bed & breakfast in Abingdon, VA that can offer you a king-size bed, in-room fireplace, oversized whirlpool tub, and a private walk-in tiled shower. Our personalized service and luxurious accommodations are a wonderfully inviting alternative to typical hotel lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing