We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and friendly wine tasting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Fox Vineyard

Flying Fox Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Afton
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and friendly wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stopped here for a wine tasting on a recent vacation with my husband and we really enjoyed ourselves. Our wine tasting was very friendly and personal and we got to try several different wines. The tasting room itself is very cozy and comfortable. Some people may think it is a bit small, but personally I thought the room added a lot to the atmosphere of the winery. We purchased several of their wines and we very much look forward to having them! This winery is one of my favorites on the Nelson 151 wine/brewery trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzustarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Though we have visited many vineyards aver the years, this was our first visit to FF. It's small and cozy and you get the feeling the people are in it to make good wine and not create a circus atmosphere, like some of their neighbors. Try it, it's a throwback to the days when the wine industry was in its infancy in VA.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HTalisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, VA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a small winery off of 151 and part of the Nelson 151 group of winery's/vinyards. There is a small tasting room and not much more. They do have a nice selection of wines from dry to sweet. They have a tasting fee but we were not charged as we only tried a couple of them. Which we liked, by the way. They have nice little stemless glasses with their logo on they give you after the tasting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank neal4212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlothian va
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly stop for wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My group stopped here while on the beer trail. We enjoyed the friendly staff and sampled (and purchased) some very nice wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ricky_8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely tasting room with great wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful wine and brewery trail in Nelson County. Flying fox wines are awarding winning both white and reds. Confident of the tastings that you will find at least one that pleasures your palate. Just nice folks, always,helpful!

Helpful?
Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flying Fox Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing