We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to "Wine" About”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Farmhouse at Veritas
Ranked #1 of 5 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a memorable experience we just had at the Farmhouse. As my wife said -- "A playground for grown-ups." We had an excellent meal by Chef Andy, with great wine pairings. The staff were all so friendly and warm, and we got great tips on which vineyards and breweries to hit (you gotta try Starr Hill in Crozet). The rooms were perfectly maintained and the bed extremely comfortable. There are lots of porches and decks that overlook the farm with the beautiful Appalachain Mountains in the background. The 5:30 wine Happy Hour is great -- really got to know the other guests and the wine was plentiful! The breakfast was awesome -- "Sweet or Savory," with some sparkling wine as well. Overall, one of the best experiences and this place is on our rotation of Inns to come back to over and over again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

There could not have been a more perfect stay! Wine in the room when we arrived. The room was large, clean, bright. We walked around the farm and saw the baby sheep, and roosters. The Farm and Vineyard was so well maintained it could have been a Disney re-creation.

The 5:30 Wine reception -- thought it was going to be a wine tasting, but it was basically all the wines set out -- select any and all. And a very nice sampler platter of treats. Chloe sat and talked with us and provided the interesting history of the vineyard. Also met the cutest pup - Goose.

Wish we could have done the dinner, but it was only Thursday-Saturday. we ate a short distance away at Blue Mountain Brewery. The breakfast was fabulous. I really cant put in words how good it was. Seriously.

Cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We chose the derby. Spacious, and separated from the main house for greater privacy. Separate entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John123456_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmhouseatVeritas, Manager at The Farmhouse at Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

John123456_11 Thank you for your review! You'll have to come back and stay again as we are now offering dinner Tuesday through Saturday! Also, Goose has grown into a monster (a sweet and cuddly monster, but monster nonetheless!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It's hard to add to what the other reviewers have said except to echo the enthusiastic praise. This is a beautiful facility with terrific staff and amazing food. We have been to many inns and many wine dinners, and enjoyed them, but this was special because the charming and delightful owners were at the table with us, along with other guests and family members. The wine was perfectly paired with the youthful and gifted Chef Andy's food. He has exceptional talent for cuisine that tastes great and includes unusual combinations that are not weird or precious or contrived. These really work. Best duck, best chicken, best garlic soup, and splendid wines, supplemented by the hosts generosity and our enthusiasm. And oh that fantastic room: huge windows, multiple skylights and a spiral staircase up to the big loft bed. Views of the vineyard, sheep safely grazing, and birds serenading. We had to cut our trip short to avoid being snowed in, and the hosts were perfectly gracious about the departure after Chef Andy's superb breakfast (strong coffee, fruit, best croissant ever, and a savory of perfectly fried local eggs, local grits, local sausage and some marvelous sauce enhancing it all). A total wow in every respect. I am saving up now for a return trip in the warmer weather. PS If you can't stay at the inn, you can still have dinner, but be sure to have a designated driver because the Afton Mountain road will require close and sober attention.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms and they are all lovely. The Derby room where we stayed is the most unus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed in many wonderful B&Bs on both the East and West cost during our 30+ year marriage. As seasoned veterans, and hopeless romantics, we always have high expectations. The Farmhouse at Veritas didn't disappoint! This beautiful old house, gorgeous surroundings and warm hosts/staff exceeded our expectations across the board. Each guest room is roomy and beautifully appointed, as are all of the common areas. Breakfast was incredible (can't wait to go back to have dinner!!) with a sweet or savory choice of delightful indulgences. We are very fortunate to be close by, and plan to make a habit of visiting the Farm House for special occasions and Winery events!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camp6sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmhouseatVeritas, Manager at The Farmhouse at Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Camp6sunset, so glad you were able to stay with us back in March and it's been great to see you since! Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were lucky to be snowed in here for a day. The staff couldn't make it in, all restaurants in the area closed. No worries, Innkeeper Chloe prepared our breakfast, made sure we had something for lunch, and then made us a wonderful stew for dinner. And of course, lots of wine. It was truly service above and beyond. We also attended the Valentine dinner/dance party the next night, and I can highly recommend it as well. Terrific staff attitude reflects good management. This place deserves all the praise it gets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curveball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmhouseatVeritas, Manager at The Farmhouse at Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Love the photos! Gosh what a storm it was. Hopefully next Valentine's will have a bit tamer weather. Please come back for beef stew any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just spent two days wonderful staying at the Farmhouse this weekend. From our greeting on Friday afternoon by Chloe and her family to our departure Sunday morning, everything was fantastic. Chef Andy did an amazing job preparing the food both mornings plus a wonderful Saturday evening 4 course dinner with wine pairing was well worth the price.
We stayed in the Cornwall room which was very cozy with a king size bed great view of the mountains. Coffee and tea are always available with cookies tempting you as you pass the main entry area. Wine and snacks from 5:30-6:30 every evening. Plenty of places to sit indoors and out to just relax. Lots to do in the area including visiting the Veritas Winery a short walking distance away from the Farmhouse.
Thank you Veritas Farmhouse for making our 31st wedding anniversary so special. We’ll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLB3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmhouseatVeritas, Manager at The Farmhouse at Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

So glad you all had a memorable anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to review - I hope we will see you again for 32!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at The Farmhouse in mid-February. It was a mid-week stay, so we were one of only two couples for two out of the three nights. Maybe that was one of the reasons why we felt so very welcome and received such warm, personal attention throughout the entire stay. We arrived just before a blizzard in Virginia (almost 2 feet of snow fell at Veritas!), and some of the staff weren't able to make it in... but that didn't compromise our stay at all! Quite the opposite. Chloe, the manager (and youngest daughter of the winery's owners), took AMAZING care of us. She made us a homemade dinner of beef stew on our second night (we were completely snowed in), and even fashioned a funny "sled" out of a tarp and trekked back and forth between The Farmhouse and the winery in snow, ice, and wind to bring us yummy deliveries of cheese, baguettes, and of course, PLENTY of wine! The B&B itself is beautiful and totally luxurious. And the breakfasts - to die for! Chef Andy is incredible and so creative. We also enjoyed a "farmhouse dinner" at the B&B on our first night - well worth the price! The food was delicious and so creative. We were able to sit at the "bar" in the kitchen and watch Chef cook - a fun, unique experience for us. During our stay, Chloe was also great about recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area. On her advice, we tried Zynodoa in Staunton for dinner, and it was delicious. We also went skiing at Wintergreen Resort the day after the blizzard. It's about 30 minutes from Veritas and made for a fun day. Overall, a five star experience at The Farmhouse. We'll be back for sure! :)

Room Tip: We loved the Surrey room - king size bed, private bath, nice vineyard views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaLC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmhouseatVeritas, Manager at The Farmhouse at Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Amanda, we had so much fun being snowed in with you and your husband! Thank you for being such troopers! I hope we will see you for some warmer weather later this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
2.2 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
4 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
808 reviews
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rockfish Valley Inn
#5 of 5 in Afton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse at Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse at Veritas

Address: 72 Saddleback Farm, Afton, VA 22920-2323
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: £107 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse at Veritas was built in 1836 and is surrounded by vineyards and is in walking distance to Veritas Winery. It is located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains with easy access to the Rockfish Gap Appalachian Trail. This area was recently named one of the “Top 10 Best Wine Travel Destinations” in 2012 by Wine Enthusiast Magazine. The house is comprised of six bedrooms which are beautifully appointed and en suite. The Farmhouse at Veritas combines excellence in service, fine dining, wine and ambiance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing