We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited on Mother's Day with 4-generation, 5-mother family of 19” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Brewery

Blue Mountain Brewery
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Afton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visited on Mother's Day with 4-generation, 5-mother family of 19”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After a hike in Shenandoah National Park, we headed to BMB where we had been before. We were surprised to be seated within 10 minutes at picnic tables next to the growing hops. We warned the server we'd be "a lot of fun" but he did well.

Ordered appetizers and drinks for first arrivals. Others came separately, but fairly close together. Many trips back and forth for the server, ranging from beer samplers to extra chips for the nachos to chocolate milk in her own cup for a little one..

A variety of beers, ales and hard cider. Very nice menu with veggie options. Sandwiches, pizza and burgers. Generous servings. Even the two teen males couldn't finish everything.

Alas, the order for the final arrivals got misplaced and they waited and waited, but all in all, it was a lovely day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu22902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    290
    67
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, view and beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We got beer and a couple of appetizers and were not disappointed! I'm not much of a beer drinker, but I really liked the English lager. We had the cheese plate and were amazed at the sheer amount of food--3 different kinds of cheeses, fruit and meats. We also had the crab dip, which was awesome. And you can't beat the view!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaSouche_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer, burgers, and Blue Ridge views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I think the title says it all, but you really have to visit. It's has a very spacious series of outdoor patios with beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains from every table. I had the delicious BMB cheese burger and fries. For those of you who love Timberwood's fries, you'll find these very similar. Service is great and I personally love their beer...especially the Rockfish Wheat. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place has very good beers and food. We tried the beer sampler and had the Rueben and cubano sandwiches and everything was delicious. We sat outside because the weather was beautiful and really enjoyed the views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wavybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for an afternoon outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed an afternoon at Blue Mountain Brewery on a recent Sunday. Perfect spring weather, views of mountains, great band playing, cornhole games, and a lovely rural setting. We sat on the stone outdoor terrace and received excellent service from our waitress, sampling a couple of appetizers and several types of beer. All in all, a great way to spend time with our college student.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teachertype22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Mountain Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing