We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We were looking for a special place to stay for our wedding night, but this area isn't exactly swimming in posh hotels. We decided to go the B&B route, and we checked out several in the Valley before settling on the Afton Mountain B&B. We got there around 8 p.m. (we had an afternoon wedding and reception) and were warmly welcomed by Dan and Orquida. The house is lovely -- antiques and stained-glass windows -- and nestled in beautiful Nelson County. We stayed in the Mornighton Room, mostly because we wanted to take advantage of the whirlpool tub. That was a nice treat after all the excitement of the day, but be warned that it takes a while to fill up. There was a well-stocked refreshment station in the hallway complete with sodas and fresh cookies, and there were some little snacks in the room, too. In the morning, there was fresh coffee in the hall and set-ups for tea and hot chocolate. They use locally sourced and organic ingredients as much as possible, including delicious Trager Brothers coffee. Breakfast was a delicious fresh fruit parfait followed by sage sausage and apricot/cream cheese-stuffed French toast made with local Goodwin Creek bread. It was so wonderful! We'll be back, probably for an anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassyMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent one night here (tried to spend 2 but it was full) while exploring the Blue ridge mountains. Great place, very hospitable. Vineyards very near by, lovely places to eat, wonderful home from home

Room Tip: All have their own character but we needed a twin (Goodwin)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My daughter and I had a delightful experience stying at this cozy, clean and well-maintained B&B back in the middle of August. We stayed in the "Looking Glass" room and very much enjoyed our visit. This B&B is on the main road but far enough back that we really didn't hear any noise from the traffic. It is conveniently located to many of the breweries and wineries in the area as well as local eating establishments and a short hop to Wintergreen. We had a problem with the air conditioner in our room rattling but the Inn Keepers "Innsitters" made an adjustment to our nightly rates for the inconvenience. I would recommend this B&B and if ever in the area again would plan on a revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyofVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a football game in Charlottesville and a day of brewery/winery visits around "Nelson 151". The Afton Mountain B&B is the perfect location for sightseeing, wine and beer tasting, ziplining at Wintergreen, in addition to the wealth of things to do in C'ville. Our room, The Jefferson, was lovely and quite comfortable. My husband believes that innkeepers Orquida and Dan could write a book on how to run a B&B--they've thought of everything! We enjoyed the Anniversary Package, which included a delicious cake, a bottle of local wine, and a gift certificate for dinner at one of the local restaurants (where we thoroughly enjoyed our late dinner at the recommended Three Notch'd Grill in Crozet). We were sorry for our weekend to end, however, we both feel we'll return--to both, the beautiful Afton Mountain B&B and to the variety of activities that abound around it!

Room Tip: I don't know believe there is a "bad room" there--each bedroom has its own personality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were passing near Afton Mountain and wanted a room for the night before going to Monticello. We were fortunate to find the Afton Mountain Bed and Breakfast through our Garmin. The "Goodwin Room" was very comfortable with a nice bath. There were snacks in the room and cookies and drinks in the hallway for guests. Our breakfast consisted of scones, fruit plate, juice, coffee and a hot egg entree and was very delicious. If we had been able to stay longer, there was a pool and a walking trail through the woods. The property is near a busy highway but it did not bother our sleep. The owners have done a lot of work inside and the rooms were clean and well-maintained. We would definitely go back. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajthja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent the weekend at Afton Mountain B&B for our first anniversary and had a lovely time! Breakfasts were great (the highlight was Sunday's apricot-stuffed french toast and they were very accommodating to my husband's eating preferences) and we had plenty of tasty cookies for our afternoon snacks after a long day of hiking and visiting wineries/breweries.

They are conveniently located on the Highway with plenty of stops just to the north and to the south. The road was a little noisy, but that's the only thing about which I can complain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recently returned from 4 nights at the inn. Delightful hosts ~ very helpful and polite! Wonderful breakfasts ~ delicious every day!! The best locally roasted, fair trade organic coffee I think I have every tasted. Very comfortable room (Goodwin) with in-room air conditioner. Location is central to many historical sites as well as hiking, scenic drives, breweries, wineries and pick-your-own fruit farms so it is a short drive to nearly everything. There are several porches to enjoy and a very nice pool when you want to cool off. The internet/cell service is 'sketchy' due to the location within the mountain range but when you want to "get away from it all" that can be a blessing.

Room Tip: Goodwin room can accommodate 2 twin beds - great for friends traveling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeelover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
5.2 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 2 in Nellysford
365 reviews
6.4 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing