We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely experience.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a lovely home, clean and comfortable with really great breakfasts! The hosts, Orquida and Dan were very welcoming and friendly. It is located in a beautiful area of VA mountains, many vineyards and only 1/2 hour from Monticello and Charlottsville.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    46
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
172
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Looking for a country getaway at a historic home managed by great hosts? Afton Mountain B&B fits the bill. We stayed two nights and greeted each morning with hot coffee outside our room, followed by a delicious breakfast. In room snacks and easy access to homemade cookies and beverages are a nice touch. Orquida always acknowledged us by our first names which was a special effort on her part. The location of the B&B is perfect for visiting the many wineries, breweries and historic sites in Albemarle and Nelson counties.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the second floor. Due to the age of the home AC is from window units which can be...
See more room tips
Green Features: The B&B is certified for good environmental practices and gives a discount for driving a high mileage vehicle.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguys221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the Afton Mountain B&B for one night and wished we'd stayed longer - this place is a gem. I'd give it five stars for the incredibly good and abundant home-made-to-order breakfast alone, but then throw in the afternoon homemade cookies and I've run out of stars. It's also clean as a whistle, full of character, good value for the money, porches with rocking chairs upstairs and down - I just loved it. It's about a 15-20 minute drive from Waynesboro and the southern end of Shenandoah National Park, on a moderately busy country (2-lane) highway - but it's quite quiet at night, even sitting outside on one of the porches (which I did at length to watch the fireflies :)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Afton B & B and boy, was it a treat! The hosts were friendly, informative, and extremely helpful. The inn was clean, comfortable, and had lots of extras to make the getaway extra special. LOVE those homemade chocolate chip cookies! I highly recommend booking a Saturday Brewery excursion, ask for Ernie--sweet, towncar driver, who goes the extra mile for his clients. Much to see---Monticello, Ashlawn Highland, downtown Charlottesville, breweries, wineries, and don't forget the new cidery. I am already nagging my husband to book another trip! Thanks for an amazing weekend!

Room Tip: The Mornington room with the whirlpool is worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic, local ingredients. Discount for hybrid cars, very environmentally friendly
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Dan and Orquida are wonderful hosts, and they provide an exceptional experience. They make it a point to use their guests' first names, which is a really nice touch and helps to make everyone feel more welcome and comfortable. They provide in-room snacks as well as freshly baked cookies, coffee, teas, soft drinks, and even chocolates for guests in various locations throughout the house. Their breakfasts are outstanding—one of the very best breakfast experiences I have ever had in many, many years of staying in B&Bs all over the place.

Our room (the Goodwin) was immaculately clean and very comfortable. We were very pleased to find that there was not a television; we find that it further enhances relaxation, but make note if you require a TV on vacation.

They provide a plethora of local information at the B&B, and it is convenient to a number of vineyards, restaurants, and scenic places.

We would definitely stay there again if we were ever back in Afton. Very well done, Afton Mountain!

Room Tip: Given the size and location of the B&B, I would imagine that all of the rooms are similar in ter...
See more room tips
Green Features: This B&B uses compact-fluorescent bulbs and refillable dispensers for shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the showers. They also compost their food scraps, and they have a discount program for guests arriving in hybrid vehicles, among other things.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I were taking a regional roadtrip in mid-May 2013 through N. Carolina, Virginia, S. Carolina and Georgia and stayed here for one night. The area is a beautiful backdrop to this comfortable, quiet, restful home and the very personable innkeepers. We made a trip to Charlottesville and Monticello while there, as well as sampled some local brew pub food and grog. The only regret we had was that we couldn't stay longer! We hope to be back again and to explore more of the wineries, breweries, Blue Ridge mountains and historical attractions the area has to offer. Definitely a great affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally restful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our stay at Afton Mountain B & B was a welcome respite for us aided by the gracious and thoughtful innkeepers, Dan & Orquida. Our room, The Shenandoah, was clean and comfortable. The bedlinens and towels were first rate. The breakfasts were delicious and, when possible, prepared with locally produced ingredients. Hope you are served the local sausage! The B & B might be a Victorian structure but the rooms are equipped with satellite radio and the Internet is available for daytrip planning. The location is close to Charlottesville, with all its attractions. In addition, the rural location is also close to micro-breweries, wineries, restaurants, coffee shops, hiking, and scenic mountain drives. As a result the guests can be close to whatever interest they might have. When we return to the area we definitely will also return to Afton Mountain.

Room Tip: The Shenandoah is on the first floor while the balance of the rooms are on the second floor. The re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerbobarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
6.4 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
16.9 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Property: Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing