We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was a lovely stay from beginning to end. We were welcomed by both Orquida and Dan and they gave us a tour of the property. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were out of this world. We were always made welcome and enjoyed the company of the other guests too. We can thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieandB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our stay at the Afton Mountain B&B was satisfactory. The professional photos make the rooms look larger than they really are. The comfort of our bed was above average and the room was very clean. We found having a sink next to the bed a bit strange and inconvenient. The high speed internet was good and the breakfasts that were prepared were good and the early morning coffee was very welcoming. The property could use a bit of updating. Orquida and Dan were nice and did their best to make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Afton Mountain B&B is warm and welcoming. The room we stayed in is called the Jefferson room and fit right in with our vacation theme for visiting the area's historical homes of presidents, Monticello, Montpelier, and Ash Lawn Highlands. The B&B is located near hiking trails, golf, many vineyards, and good restaurants. The food served was superb, and it was clear that the owner's put a lot of time and effort into preparing breakfast that was delicious and would stick with you for a good part of the day. We loved it there!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a lovely home, clean and comfortable with really great breakfasts! The hosts, Orquida and Dan were very welcoming and friendly. It is located in a beautiful area of VA mountains, many vineyards and only 1/2 hour from Monticello and Charlottsville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Looking for a country getaway at a historic home managed by great hosts? Afton Mountain B&B fits the bill. We stayed two nights and greeted each morning with hot coffee outside our room, followed by a delicious breakfast. In room snacks and easy access to homemade cookies and beverages are a nice touch. Orquida always acknowledged us by our first names which was a special effort on her part. The location of the B&B is perfect for visiting the many wineries, breweries and historic sites in Albemarle and Nelson counties.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the second floor. Due to the age of the home AC is from window units which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguys221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the Afton Mountain B&B for one night and wished we'd stayed longer - this place is a gem. I'd give it five stars for the incredibly good and abundant home-made-to-order breakfast alone, but then throw in the afternoon homemade cookies and I've run out of stars. It's also clean as a whistle, full of character, good value for the money, porches with rocking chairs upstairs and down - I just loved it. It's about a 15-20 minute drive from Waynesboro and the southern end of Shenandoah National Park, on a moderately busy country (2-lane) highway - but it's quite quiet at night, even sitting outside on one of the porches (which I did at length to watch the fireflies :)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Afton B & B and boy, was it a treat! The hosts were friendly, informative, and extremely helpful. The inn was clean, comfortable, and had lots of extras to make the getaway extra special. LOVE those homemade chocolate chip cookies! I highly recommend booking a Saturday Brewery excursion, ask for Ernie--sweet, towncar driver, who goes the extra mile for his clients. Much to see---Monticello, Ashlawn Highland, downtown Charlottesville, breweries, wineries, and don't forget the new cidery. I am already nagging my husband to book another trip! Thanks for an amazing weekend!

Room Tip: The Mornington room with the whirlpool is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
654 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
6.4 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing