We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

1-Location: the hotel is in a quiet street, 15 min. walking to downtown Alexandria and also 15 min. to the Metro station. The metro will take you to the Mall in Washington in 20 min. There is a Supermarket 'Giant' across the street. The hotel has a free shuttle to and from Reagan Airport every half hour. If you don't feel like walking to the metro you can take the shuttle to the airport and in 5min. you will be at the train. 2- The Hotel: large and nice place. We got a huge double bed room with a fridge, coffee making facilities and good mattresses. The hotel has an indoor pool very convenient for a splash before dinner. 3: A Plus. The provide free bikes ( and helmets). We made a wonderful bike ride to Mt Vernon!!!! 4: Price. We paid 134 bucks at the Internet for a prepaid plan ( without breakfast) do not search for a better place! It is the cheapest in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Murilo,

We appreciate your comments and feedback on our hotel. It was more than our pleasure to serve you. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're elated to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Holiday Inn is always my go-to lodging when away from home, but this time I struck out. Hotel was very dated, the front desk clerk was cold and almost militant in her replies to my questions. The interior of the room was clean but looked like a Motel 6 from 1988. There were large tears in the blinds that the staff at one time tried to hold together with masking tape. The window was broken and stuck open about an inch, which turned out to be a blessing with the cold November air because the heater was unbearably hot and smelly, even set at a very low temperature. I could not park my truck in the underground garage because of the height restrictions, but there was outdoor parking, although I'm not sure why I had to pay $20 for it when it was unguarded and in the far rear of the building. All in all I was unhappy and will never use this facility again.

Room Tip: East facing, exterior room shave a great view of the approaching aircraft at Reagan National. Surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We are constantly training our staff to engage our guest with a friendly smile and to ensure that our guests are satisfied. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the rooms decor, and our parking facility. The damage to the window treatments is something we will look into and fix. Our parking fees are more than comparable in price for this area, and the parking lot is apart of our security's tours nightly. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently returned from a three night stay at this hotel...it was booked by a business associate. First, the good....comfortable and clean room and bath....excellent shuttle service. at this point the hotel deserves a four star rating.
Now, the not so good.....the hotel advertises free fast internet connection....when (and IF) you can gain access...it is slower than the dial up I had fifteen years ago. I note that other reviewers have left complaints....obviously nothing has been done to correct the situation...this is my PET PEEVE! The television set in my assigned room featured a snowy screen....with very limited choice of channels. Buffet Breakfast is the usual found at midpriced hotels...and while most of those hotels include the Breakfast in the room rate....this hotel charges for the Breakfast. At this point, the hotel deserves NO star rating.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank TravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear TravelerFL,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to make concerted efforts to improve our guest overall experience. We apologize that the Wifi service was an items to affect your impression of us. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the WiFi service for our guest as these efforts are underway and yet to be completed. In that respect we have let you down, and prefer you had a better experience at our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here for business for 5 nights. The property was in good shape and is in a good location in Old Town Alexandria. I am an IHG platinum member and they upgraded me to a very nice room for the duration of my stay. My room was cleaned and spacious. I had dinner and a drink at the hotel bar one night and I was about what a business traveler would expect. There were a few drawbacks to the hotel. The Internet was about dial up speed. This is unexpectable for 2013. I did have 2 flat screen TV's in my room, but they did not have HD channels and they channel selection itself was limited. Again, unacceptable for 2013. Sad to say that when I come to this area again, I probably will not stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear KP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful. However we would have preferred you were pleased entirely with your overall experience during your stay as one of our valued customer. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay to having a just Ok stay. We are in the process of making the upgrades to our WiFi services and TV channels. We hope that you return and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days for a wedding event. Loved the location - we were able to walk to Old Town and the wedding venue. The grocery store across the street was perfect - we got snacks and drinks and were very comfortable during our stay. Room was spacious, front desk staff was helpful and friendly - and the special rates for the wedding party were attractive. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We took the shuttle to Reagan. And ended up taking a taxi to Washington DC to save time. Taxi was only $20 so it worked for us. Don't understand the complaints of others - you're staying at a Holiday Inn folks not a boutique, pricey hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Throughout my stay, the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. They always greeted me with a smile and gave great recommendations for the surrounding area.

However, there are a number of issues with the hotel itself. I walked in to the hotel room and immediately noticed it smelled musty. The curtains were also slightly dirty.

In addition, the wi-fi in the hotel was very bad. I could only connect to it about 70% of the time. When I could connect, the wi-fi was terribly slow. As a visitor for business purposes, not having internet was difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjppjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Cjppjc,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the connectability for our guest. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Service was great. Front desk was very helpful. Hotel was so strategically placed. We walked around old town and got on shuttle to metro to get to sites of D.C. Plenty of history to see and read just walking around hotel. GREAT italian restaurant A LA LUCIA near hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Unecorn,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. . We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.1 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £77 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing