We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lynwood,IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came with a group of 40 -the Illiana Community Congregation-to visit the DC. Rooms were spacious and clean. Key cards were not always working, but staff remedied those matters quickly. Beds and pillows were "just like home." Breakfast had many items, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, fruits,bacon, sausage, bagels, muffins, and toast. As other reviews have stated, there is musty smell in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator, since some of the hallways are quite far from the elevator. Or ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Henry H,

We do appreciate your comment and feedback on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast to be just right for your appetite. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the musty odor in the hallway comments such as those allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention and improvement. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    176
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
139
73
35
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

So-So, Good front desk staff, cafe,limited selections and very poor service. The bar is to close to the cafe, problems with loud drunks swearing. The hallways have an old smokey/musty smell.
The location is not in the best area of town, and is a long walk from old town. no bathroom fan, no microwave in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Historyteachertrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Historyteachertrav,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had a number of aversions that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We are very disappointed we failed in extending to you our best in accommodations. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. Thanks again for you comment and we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A great hotel for an overnight or short stay. Good location only 10 mins shuttle to Reagan Airport. Also hotel shuttle to historic district and marina....great for drinks and meals. Rooms spacious and clean. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear 46Bear,

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. We love to hear from our guest. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I received this hotel from Hotwire. The front desk person checking me in quickly informed me that I booked through "a third party", so I was not entitled to anything extra. Upgrades, late check out, nothing. At this point I made sure I would not spend a dime at this hotel. I parked around the block, and took a cab downtown to eat. These hotels should realize that just because I used a third party booking place, I still spend money. If they don't want 'third party bookings", don't put yourself on these sites.

Location: too far away from downtown, they have a shuttle but only runs once per hour.

Room: Typical cheap hotel room. Window a/c. Plastic glasses to drink from.

If you are in need of a lower end hotel, this would be fine. I only saved a little bit over their regular rate when I used my third party booking company. I would not stay here again, because of the front desk attitude and poor location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize you could not be completely happy with the quality of your room. Upgrades and late check out are upon availability, unfortunately we may not have been unable to accommodate your request. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs. We apologize if our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay. We're sorry you were not pleased with the logistics of our complimentary shuttle services during your stay. Thank you for constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Treated very well. The restaurant at breakfast has a great waitress, Alicia, who would do anything for you. My only complaints about the hotel are the keys quit working every other time you used them and the internet would disconnect al the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Marlynn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the food delectable, our staff is so helpful to mention by name. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your room keys and internet. We are glad you chose us, and we're looking forward to you returning that we may serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked our room on Priceline which we've done more than a hundred times for various trips but after asking the front desk about our room we realized you get treated differently here. Our room on the 3rd floor was right near the elevator and when we walked in our first though was "very roomy." Upon further inspection we realize there's a handicapped shower with a bench in it. I thought perhaps they had just done that in every room to be accommodating and I wasn't too concerned until my husband used the shower and water went all over the bathroom floor making the tile very slippery and very dangerous.

There was also a nightstand with a drawer that wouldn't stay closed. We also had to pay an additional $20 for parking. We booked this hotel because it said "historic district" but it's actually a good 7-8 blocks from the main shopping & restaurant area.

There is breakfast in the morning and some guests get free breakfast; we did not. The waitress asked us if we had a pass so I asked at the front desk and was told we booked a "standard" room. We did not get a "standard" room; we got a handicapped room. Upon checkout I asked about that and was told "If you book a standard room you get what's available." Really? The hotel was not full at all so putting us in a room with "issues" certainly told us how they do business.

We wouldn't stay here again simply because of the way we were treated. We use Priceline or other booking sites often and we've never felt like we got "second class treatment" at any other hotel. We've had rooms at Sheraton's & Hyatt's that have certainly exceeded this Holiday Inn in hospitality. Sadly it wouldn't have cost them anything to have given us a regular room - I doubt the normal rooms are any different except for the handicapped shower and room configuration.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not handicapped with a shower that leaves a pond in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Malcomsmom,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience for all of our guest. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We're sorry you perceived your treatment to be bias because of the type of reservation made. We consider all guest valuable and important to us.
It's a privilege for you to have chosen us to stay with, we're looking forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during our 4 day stay in DC. Hotel had courtesy shuttle to Metro that runs every 30 mins which helps get to DC without having to drive. If you have a car, try parking on the "free" street so u avoid paying an extra 20.00 at the hotel! The rooms and general Hotel appearance was not the greatest, but okay for someone who's going to use it primary to sleep.
They advertise free breakfast for kids, but you have to ask for the coupons at the front desk or they "forget" to give them to you. Our daily waitress Amelsa was overworked, but she was always very polite and helpful. We spoke with other families who complained about the restaurant service, but we enjoyed Almesa and her service. Overall it was a pretty good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ignaciomurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing