We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to, and Close to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I just visited this hotel for the first time about 2 weeks ago, and found that it was very easy to get to. Driving in Washington DC traffic on the beltway can be absolutely horrible, and terrifying if you are not from the DC area. Being from Dover, DE (about 2 hours away), I've passed thru this area many times but never detoured off I-95. This hotel is literally right off the beltway, you can see it right as you exit the off ramp. So, it is very easy to find for a traveler like me who hates driving in big city traffic. The hotel had plenty of places to park on all sides of the building. The lobby was clean. The staff was friendly. And my room was nice. It was very quite for only being on the 3rd floor. There was no road noise from outside (although I could hear a dog barking from the next floor up...i guess that's the pet floor...but that really wasn't too loud). Breakfast good. I wish that there were a few more options, but over all the scrambled eggs and oatmeal were good, and there was plenty of places to sit in the diningroom. This hotel has a small but nice workout room, and an outdoor pool (although I did not use the pool while there, it did look inviting from the parking lot.) Overall I gave this hotel a 4 out of 5 stars simply because it is very nice, but the breakfast could have had more options and the elevators in this hotel were slow (it took a while just to get to the 3rd floor). A nice place to stay and visit Alexandria and close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask the person at the front desk which floors allow pets. That way you can pick a floor away from pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate feedback to that we can continue good service and work on areas we may be lacking. Typically, we do not allow pets in the hotel, however, they are occasions when they are permitted.

And, you are right - the pool is a very inviting area. Next time you visit, make sure you take a swim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went to check into this hotel after driving 600 miles to find, because of the storm over the weekend, they were without power. The manager Hilda Froelke told us the hotel was out of power and we had to go elsewhere. We said we didn't know where to go, she reluctantly and rudely gave us a couple of numbers of close by hotels. She said that was all she could do to help and didn't know if and when the power would come back on. We spent the night in our van. The next day, we were unable to contact the hotel (assuming the power was still out). By the third day, we were able to get through on the phone. Again speaking with Hilda, she informed us that the power was back on. We said, it was too late for us, could we arrange for a refund? She said since we booked through a third party (hotels.com) that she couldn't help us. In fact she yelled that she had 10 customers waiting and couldn't spend any time talking to me. After a heated exchange, she reluctantly provided us with a cancellation number. As of now, our credit card has not yet been credited. While we understand things happen that are out of the control of the hotel, some sympathy and understanding would have made a stressful situation so much better! Hey, a "sorry things didn't work out" would have been nice!! Wish we could comment about the hotel itself, but were unable to make it past the lobby. However, if customer service is important to you, I would stay away from this hotel. And Hilda should get out of the customer service business, she can't handle the stress!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am very sorry for the experiences you wrote about. Indeed, the situation concerning the storm was out of the ordinary. The entire metro area had power issues that lasted several days and a week for some. It was difficult to find alternate hotels due to the lack of phone service. Please contact me at the hotel so that we can look into the refund issue you mentioned. Again, I am sorry for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel was very busy when I stayed there in April and June 2012. The staff however was very attentive and the shuttle was prompt and drivers were corteous and helpful. Emanuel and Ms. Salim at the front desk were incredibly busy, but showed geniune attentiveness to questions and were very helpful. Thank you for two great stays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTripper_7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you very much for the nice comments on Emanuel and Salima. I will pass them along to them and entire staff. Please visit again when traveling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The location is very convenient. It is in south Alexandria 3 minutes from the Metro. They provide a free shuttle to and from the station. More on that later.

TIP: ask for an odd numbered room. They are on the golf-course (east) side of the hotel. The even numbers are on the highway side - much noisier.

The rooms are very nice. Bed is excellent. Very clean. Our shower dripped a little. The toilet seat did not stay up. (A little challenge for the conscientious man.)

The first day we drove our car to the Metro. Parking is tough and it costs $4.50 per day.
The second day we took the shuttle from the hotel. The drive over was fine. We waited 30 minutes for the shuttle back to the hotel! Totally unacceptable. The hotel is 3 minutes away.

I think this is a good hotel with many nice people working there. I think the management needs to refocus on customer service. The front desk was completely unfriendly. One manager finished her personal conversation before asking if she could help us, as if we were inconveniencing her. The general manager was surly at best. I don't think customer service is her thing.

This hotel has good bones but really needs a change at the top.

Room Tip: Odd numbers on the east side are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

We appreciate your comments on your stay here, the good and the bad. We need to know about where we are doing a good job and where we need to improve and receiving feedback is the only way to achieve this. We take all comments seriously and will discuss with the other departments. Please visit with us again on your next trip through Alexandria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We chose this hotel as our recommended option for our guests to stay during our recent wedding. The hotel is close to Reagan National Airport, Old Town Alexandria, and the Alexandria metro stops...all of which The Hampton Inn offers free shuttle service. There was also ample space for our guests to park if they had a car. The lobby was recenlty completely refurbished into a very nice and clean, more contemporary look. The lobby has multiple (very comfortable) seating areas, and is adjacent to one of the largest Hampton Inn breakfast areas that I've ever seen....and I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns for my work travel! We rented one of the hospitality rooms off of the breakfast area, for the wedding eve happy hour, and it was perfect! The space worked very well for our visiting guests, and the overflow into the quiet lobby seating areas, worked wonderfully for those who wanted to sit and chat or play a game of cards, etc. The rooms were clean and well maintained, although they have not been updated like the lobby was. My in-laws did have to switch rooms once, right at check in, because their first room smelled musty. My guess is that it's because it was the first weekend that the air conditioning had to be turned on, and it didn't seem like a regular occurance. The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn...included with your stay and very tasty! The front desk staff, as well as the manager, were all very kind and helpful! We would recommend that, if you're working on room blocks for an event, that you work soley with the manager, Micki. The front desk repeatedly gave us misinformation about our room block, but Micki was always very much on top of it and helped us with all of our questions.
The Hampton Inn Alexandria South became our home away from home for our wedding weekend, and we couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: The two queen bed suites are HUGE!! Perfect for a large family, or in my case...the bridal suite whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for allowing our hotel to play a part in your celebration. We certainly enjoyed your family and wish you and your husband a wonderful life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, even better than we expected for the price. It was clean, spacious, and comfortable with all necessary amenities (including cleaned duvet on bed for each guest and a large cable TV selection). We even got to see a deer strolling by a stream in the back when we looked out the window. The room was quiet. The service was excellent and the suite shop offering food and other items allowed us to stay in the hotel and relax instead of driving to a nearby store for a quick snack. The breakfast area was large and comfortable and there was a variety of foods available. The location by the highway was a little awkward (we drove by it the first time and ended up going over a bridge and making an unplanned vist to the National Harbor in Maryland which was wonderful). Watch for the hotel entrance that is well before the hotel building - it's easy to miss (perhaps call the hotel and ask for landmarks or the best route when you get there). Thanks to other reviews we knew that this was located a few minutes from town and we'd want to use the shuttle to the metro. The metro ride into D.C. was a breeze. The hotel shuttle service was quick and easy. The traffic in the Washington area is busy, so having to call the hotel and wait a few minutes for a comfortable shuttle is easy. We really enjoyed our stay, will recommend it to others, and will return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you so much for the nice comments. I will share them with the rest of the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel delivered! It was a great place to stay for a recent business visit. The staff could not be more accommodatiing. Yes, it is not in Old Towne Alexandria but the shuttle does take people to Market Square on a as needed basis. All you have to do is call them. The shuttle also takes guests to the Huntington Metro stop and National airport. The facilities were clean and the daily breakfast was good. There is also a business center and a pool. The prices were reasonable by Alexandria standards. The room was spacious and clean and the flat screen TV was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are sound proofed quite well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on your recent stay. I am happy you enjoyed the shuttle to Old Town. Please visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,480 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £80 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing