We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$150
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$251
US$224
Kimpton
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$152
US$146
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
551
387
156
54
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
387
156
54
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfree shuttleshuttle servicehuntington metro stationnational harborthe breakfast areawafflesfree breakfastoutdoor pooldc areafront desk staffyellow linehotel shuttlebreakfast staffnice stayhot breakfastbusiness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a typical Hampton Inn. Good clean rooms, free breakfast with a large seating area, and very easy to get to as its right off the highway. Nothing fancy here though. I travel to Andrews AFB often and like staying in Old Towne Alexandria. While this is not in downtown Old Town, its probably the quickest and easiest hotel to Andrews, and the only one that was available at the per diem rate for my stay. (besides cheap motels) They do have a shuttle van to take you all around the area. Rooms were typical and had thin walls and noisey bathrooms next door- but almost all hotels are the same. My favorite part is its right on a running/biking trail. I was able to walk 20 ft from the front door get on the paved trail and ran to Jones Pointe Park where I could run on the river bottoms. These paved trails line some of the roads and you could probably run numerous different places. Not a lot to do within walking distance, but a lot to do within a 5 minute drive or shuttle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We appreciate you comments on your stay with us and thank you for staying with us when your business brings you to our area. The walking/running trail is a nice way to stay on your fitness routine and getting fresh air. Looking forward to having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here while heading out on vacation and could not have had a better stay, so we stayed on the way back. Our second visit was a bummer (room 2225 in case you get it): our first room had not been cleaned from previous guest, our second room still had dirty sheets on the sofa bed, the bathroom door did not fully close, the sink drain didn't properly function, and there were ants on the floor. Our first stay was excellent, our second was pretty poor...overall blend: average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We appreciate your honest feedback and kind words regarding our property. However, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your 2nd trip with us. Our team has been addressed in regards to your review and the necessary actions have been taken. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for two nights to see the cherry blossoms and other sights around Washington D.C. We drove here and parked the car and didn't have to use it again until we left for home. Check-in was easy and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. They gave us maps of the area and the Metro, and told us about their 24/7 shuttle service to the Huntington metro stop, Old Town Alexandria, and the airport. We had a king size room on the 7th floor with a golf course view. The room was a good size and had a small fridge and microwave, comfortable bed, closet space to hang clothes and keep your suitcase, and a nice size bathroom with plenty of counter space and towels. The hotel also offers a free breakfast which has many hot and cold choices, and a very large area with seating for many guests. We used the shuttle to Old Town and the Metro and never had to wait more than five minutes to be picked up or dropped off. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful if you needed local information. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Washington D.C. area because of all the amenities it offers, and the helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a golf course view
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo330Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments on your recent stay. I will pass them along to our staff members so they know their good service is noticed. Please visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just got back from a three night stay here. We booked this hotel the night before departing for DC during this busy April Vacation period, and we were surprised to get a very very cheap rate. The shining aspect to this hotel was clearly its value: you get free parking, internet, breakfast, parking, and shuttle all for one cheap rate. These are all things that the more expensive hotels in DC lack. The hotel was also immaculate. The housekeepers cleaned every portion of our room from top to bottom, refilling everything from tissues to the sheath in the ice bucket. My only complaint about anything at all is that while the halls, lobby, and bathrooms seem relatively new, the carpeting in the room seemed a little worn and dated; but overall not a really big issue. The breakfast was all that was needed and never too crowded (even during this busy week). The staff at this hotel absolutely bends over backwards for their guests as well. They provide two shuttles, one to Old Town Alexandria (about a 5 minute ride) and one to the Huntington Metro Station (about a 3-5 minute ride pending traffic lights), and they take you and come pick you up whenever you are ready versus sticking to a strict schedule. People may think that the location is a bit too far from the city, but it is not. With the shuttle, this hotel turns into a quiet retreat near the city. Overall, not only would I come back to this hotel but this hotel showed me that staying in Alexandria is the best way to see DC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redsox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you very much for the nice comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I will share your comments with our staff to let them know they are doing a good job. Please visit with us again when your travels bring you to Alexandria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

best location to see all the DC and Northern VA..easy access to route 495, 395, George Washington Parkway and hwy 1 south, and Potomac river. Good service and nice rooms. Get the new wing with 1000 to 7000 numbers, the old wing can be well worn.

Room Tip: rooms on the Potomac side are best and higher the better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate our guest's feedback so we can improve your experience. Come back and visit with us when you get a change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews