We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in proximity to Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel, on our way to visit Washington, DC, hoping to save some money over the Washington prices. The hotel is conveniently located, with a shuttle available to a metro stop, and to downtown Alexandria. We used the shuttle to go out to eat at night in Alexandria. They picked us up promptly from the hotel, and again from Alexandria.

Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel, except that our room had a leaking air conditioner. We notified the front desk promptly, and they sent someone up to fix the air conditioner. However, the leak made the carpet wet, which of course they could not rectify.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to inform you that we will be upgrading our guest rooms in the coming weeks to include new air conditioning units. Please be sure to visit with us again to see the completed project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a great hotel at a great price is you have your own car while visiting DC. If you do not and plan on using metro or cabs this is a ways out for walking to eat (one location only, closes early), Metro is too far to walk also. And they have shuttle busses, but you might have to wait. If you have your own car you are fine - parking is free and access is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rdeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Most of our guests take advantage of the free shuttle and there may be a wait if the van is in another location, but it is usually not very long. The free parking on site does make it easier if our guests have their own transportation. Stop back in when you visit Alexandria again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were looking for a place near our daughter in Alexandria and this was the perfect solution. Close to her condo and right off the highway. Couldn't have picked a better place. We were on the seventh floor overlooking the golf course, so the view was great and the elevators were quick and always available. Free parking was also a big plus in a city!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My son stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with his Boy Scout troop. He misplaced a wet-bag with some important items it. We learned of this after he returned home 2 weeks later. Contacted the hotel and the Executive Housekeeper responded promptly. She had located the bag and the hotel priority mailed it at their expense to us.
The attitude of the staff, especially the Executive Housekeeper, was exemplary. We are very pleased with how a mistake was handled and will continue to stay at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We got a room with 2 Queen beds and a pull out sofa. It was perfect for my family of 5. It was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. However, we arrived close to 5pm and our reserved room was not ready. The girl at the front desk was trying to tell me that I reserved a room with only one queen bed until I found my papers to prove otherwise. After waiting for at least a half hour we were told that our room was ready. (There was another family waiting in the lobby for their room also.) The breakfast was nice with plenty of space and a nice variety for a continental breakfast. We used the shuttle service to the airport and back to the hotel after our trip and that went smoothly although it did take about 1/2 hr for them to pick us up. Just something to keep in mind if you use this service. That didn't really bother us though. Overall it was a nice place to stay for one night. If our room had been ready and/or the front desk attendant had been friendlier it would have been much better!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank WSK716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Went to DC in March 2013, hotel is typical of the Hampton Brand. Nice, clean rooms, excellent breakfast. Wonderful customer service. However I want to note that the hotel is not in what most tourist consider Old Town Alexandria. You have to take the expressway to cross a body of water (not sure which) to get to Old Town Alexandria shops and restaurants. You are not able to get to the shops by walking, have to take shuttle or car. That said it is a bargain and very close to DC. Parking is free and for those who are driving that is a must. The hotel is surrounded by a golf course and water so it is an isolated area very quiet and peaceful. Stayed 3 days and enjoyed them all!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargGlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Uneventful. Clean rooms although A/C dated and a little noisy. Typical Hampton Inn style breakfast. If you have a car it is so convenient to have free parking. We used the shuttle twice and we did not have to wait long. Metro can add up if you plan to travel in to to DC every day. Metro is priced depending on how far you travel and what time of day you travel. Peak hours will cost more. It adds up fast! There is no place to eat within walking distance of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Free coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby. Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Large property with lots of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,482 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £80 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing