We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed this past Thursday to Sunday. Got in late Thursday night & as other reviewers have said the hotel entrance is a little tricky to find at first, especially in the dark, but once you find it the first time it's no problem. The location was excellent as a base to explore the D.C. area...minutes from Old Town Alexandria & just a short drive to Mount Vernon & the National Mall area.
The room was clean & had everything we needed...fridge, microwave, hair dryer etc. The 32" flatscreen w/HD programming was also appreciated. Slept great all three nights on nice firm mattresses. No noise from the hallway or the rooms above & even though our room was located on the highway side there was no traffic noise.
The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good. Better than most hotels I've been in. Hot oatmeal, a nice selection of cold cereals & juices, sliced fruit, apples, 2% & skim milk & a different mix of scrambled eggs and/or home fries & sausages each day.
No time for the pool so I can't comment on it. Never even saw it.
Not sure I'd recommend this location for a week + family vacation spot, but as a jumping off point for touring D.C. it's perfect. Will definitely stay here on our next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    319
    121
    46
    35
See reviews for
399
220
40
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
495 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We found a lovely gift under our pillow. A SPIDER! Of course we were flippin tables before one of us finally got the courage to grab a tissue and kill it. Gross..

On the other hand, there's bound to be an occasional spider so that's understandable. As long as they weren't bed bugs! Aside from that, everything was clean. We got there late Friday night and left pretty early Saturday morning so we didn't get a chance to check out the pool.

Continental breakfast is always a plus!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

i really liked the lady at the front desk. But, that's as far as the good part goes. The room was a bit overpriced. I didn't feel the room was all that clean. It was definitely not like the Hampton Inn in Columbia. I visited three Hampton Inns in the last week. It's funny how they can be so different. I will not return to this place. The oatmeal by the way was something from another planet. I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concord, nh, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Convenient place to stay but not clean. The hall ways have a1/2" of dust every where. The bathroom had hair on the floor and toilet. We have stayed at many Hampton Inns (Eight this past week from NH to Fla. and back) but this one was not clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. Your stay caught us in the early stages of our renovations and we have been working with the construction staff to keep their work sites clean. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again to experience our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We highly recommend using the shuttle van service to visit Old Town Alexandria. We enjoyed many of the "downtown" restaurants and shopping. We also enjoyed the river cruises that were available. This hotel is only about 20 minutes away from George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate. This national asset is well worth the cost of a day long visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Shuttle service available to the subway and back. Close to everything we wanted to do in the D.C. area. Complimentary breakfast was lovely each morning. Staff friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when visiting the Washington D.C. area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice typical Hampton Inn but the staff really made a difference. Rooms were nice, plenty of space and clean. Bathroom/dressing area was big and everything worked well maintained. Breakfast was typical and plenty for all. Very close to the Metro with shuttle available. Always ready to go to Metro and we never waited more than 3 minutes for shuttle at the Metro. All in all a nice typical Hampton Inn but the staff really made a difference.
Service was unreal. Mustafa, the bellman and shuttle driver was over the top. His service was what I expected at the Sheraton Time Square, (which did not deliver). The day we checked out, he took our bags and told us to go get breakfast, the brought us claim check to breakfast. After a day at the monuments and Smithsonian, we called from the metro for pick up. He remembered we would be flying out and only go back to the hotel to pick up our bags and then we were going to Reagan National. He arrived at the Metro Station with our bags and then took us directly to the Airport. WOW. Mustafa closed our stay with a wonderful experience and because of him, we highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course and Potomac River have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montu2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing