We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a DC visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in September at this Hampton as part of our very first visit to DC. I was attracted to the location (close to Old Towne Alexandria), a reasonable price, and favorable reviews. We liked that the rooms had microwaves and refrigerators and the rooms were clean and modern. We were on the sixth floor facing the front and we were never bothered with noise. The breakfast is free and very generous (I am a waffle fan) with lots of variety. It is one of the few hotels that has plenty of space for the customers eating the breakfast. There was plenty of room to eat and plenty of choices for the food (cereal, waffles, fruit, eggs, etc.). The traffic is bad so taking the Metro is the best way to go. We had great success with the free Hampton shuttle to the Metro (only 5 minutes away). Overall, the hotel is a clean, reasonably priced alternative to the expensive hotels in downtown DC. No reason to look elsewhere unless you want to walk from your hotel right to the DC attractions, which would be much more expensive especially with a downtown hotel parking fee.

Room Tip: I requested a No Smoking Room. Otherwise, all the rooms should be OK.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToledoMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

on the up side: very convenient location, easy access, plenty of free parking, friendly desk staff, friendly other staff, easy checkin, rooms reasonably clean.
on the down side, they've cut corners on housekeeping and maintenance and are in need of a facelift. 2 of the 3 elevators were not working when we arrived but they were working by the next day. in the room, a bulb was missing, the shower stall needed replacement (cracked, messily patched ceiling, sagging shower curtain) and the lower edge of the sink stand looked as if it had had a rough life. still, everything worked except two of the elevators and one lamp and things were reasonably clean..
note: they have no restaurant but do serve a mediocre free breakfast.
there were no newspapers available.
we've not tried room service and doubt they have it, they are not within walking distance of anything but there are a large shopping center and many other restaurants and stores within an easy 1 or 2 mile drive

the price was right,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very modern, had plenty of power outlets that were easy to get to (on the nightstand, on the desk lamp) for charging our electronics. They also had USB charging ports in the room. The TV channels were REALLY HD. (I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where the TV channel looked crisp and clear before!) Loved having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The air conditioner in our room wasn't working too well, but we were told they were being replaced next week. The continental breakfast was really good, lots of choices and a nice big room for everyone to eat.... it never felt too crowded. When we arrived, we were greeted by Hilda who was super-nice and super-friendly. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from nearby destinations! Overall, a great trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I would say this hotel is the best kept secret for families and sightseeing. So dont let this review leak like wikileaks. The shuttle is for real. Nice friendly front desk and staff at all levels. We will being staying here again. Staff was energetic, helpful and accomadating. Traveled with my Mom and wife and I and had no issues. The metro was and is a cluster, so ask questions. Room had HOT showers and bed was clean and room spacious. Pool was closed as it was getting chilly. Breakfast was excellent. You had your go to's with fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, but the hidden secret is the hot breakfast. Plenty of space to read the paper, catch up with other hotel guests and see the days current events which yes included a Washington shooting, and Syrian talks. Definite return customer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed this past Thursday to Sunday. Got in late Thursday night & as other reviewers have said the hotel entrance is a little tricky to find at first, especially in the dark, but once you find it the first time it's no problem. The location was excellent as a base to explore the D.C. area...minutes from Old Town Alexandria & just a short drive to Mount Vernon & the National Mall area.
The room was clean & had everything we needed...fridge, microwave, hair dryer etc. The 32" flatscreen w/HD programming was also appreciated. Slept great all three nights on nice firm mattresses. No noise from the hallway or the rooms above & even though our room was located on the highway side there was no traffic noise.
The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good. Better than most hotels I've been in. Hot oatmeal, a nice selection of cold cereals & juices, sliced fruit, apples, 2% & skim milk & a different mix of scrambled eggs and/or home fries & sausages each day.
No time for the pool so I can't comment on it. Never even saw it.
Not sure I'd recommend this location for a week + family vacation spot, but as a jumping off point for touring D.C. it's perfect. Will definitely stay here on our next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We found a lovely gift under our pillow. A SPIDER! Of course we were flippin tables before one of us finally got the courage to grab a tissue and kill it. Gross..

On the other hand, there's bound to be an occasional spider so that's understandable. As long as they weren't bed bugs! Aside from that, everything was clean. We got there late Friday night and left pretty early Saturday morning so we didn't get a chance to check out the pool.

Continental breakfast is always a plus!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

i really liked the lady at the front desk. But, that's as far as the good part goes. The room was a bit overpriced. I didn't feel the room was all that clean. It was definitely not like the Hampton Inn in Columbia. I visited three Hampton Inns in the last week. It's funny how they can be so different. I will not return to this place. The oatmeal by the way was something from another planet. I will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £85 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing