We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, ct
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The beds are soooo comfortable. The rooms are clean, modern, and spacious for a family of 6. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area was clean with the standard continental/hot breakfast fare. The hotel location is very convenient and close to the highway. We were told by the front desk that there was free transportation to the Old Town area and to the local metro station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_in_Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    352
    139
    52
    40
See reviews for
468
245
44
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Excellent hotel, Rooms were in excellent condition, staff members were very courteous and responsive to my requirements all leading to a pleasant stay. Hotel very conveniently located near the Metro and offered shuttle service to the Metro. Also located near Old Town Alexandria, VA and also offered transportation there as well. My choice for accommodations on future trips to DC area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiston Salem NC.
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel room was very clean, I found the shuttle service very helpful especially as a first timer in the city. The complimentary breakfast was rich compared to other hotels with complementary breakfast I had stayed in the past. The hotel staff were ever ready to help, especially finding my way round the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

At check in, the girl used her personal phone and answered the hotel phone several times without excusing herself. Never gave me any real acknowledgment that I was there. Just like a bean counter. Nothing personal or friendly like other Hilton locations I stay at. Booked a King room and had my confirmation info on my phone (email), but got a room with 2 Dbl beds. Manager was of no help and offered no apologies for the room. Just blamed other people for the problem and offered no solution. basically told me to take the room they had or I could leave....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn’t helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for all of the issues you encountered. If there is anything I can do for you, please don't hesitate to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our recent 4 night stay was beyond pleasant. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, the breakfast fare was way beyond a simple donut and coffee, the room was spacious and lovely. I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This Hampton Inn is misrepresented in their advertisement, the place is a dump, it's not any better than a Motel six of the 1980's. While the management, and their advertisement, claims to have smoking and non-smoking rooms, they all smell the same. In fact as soon as your step out of the taxi at their curb, the smell of cigarettes is unbelievable. That day, the garbage and ashtrays right outside their front door, were overflowing with trash, cigarettes and liquor bottles. I will never stay at another Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Juan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At our property, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our hotel team. We are currently completing a renovation project in our standard rooms with all new carpeting, furniture, heating and a/c units as well as upgrading our beds to 2 queen size beds. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

No hot water in morning for shower. Staff said that large number of students had used all of hot water. Property should have been designed and built to handle full house. Staff seemed not to be very interested in solving problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing