We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel was very convenient to DC Reagan airport and metro via the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus. The shuttle also went to the heart of Old Town Alexandria. (This was important since I hate to drive in DC. Lots of traffic and parking issues.) The rooms were comparable with most Hamptons (nice room, very comfortable bed, good shower). The staff was terrific, friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked with many options.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I will pass along your comments to the staff and please visit us again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this location because of the extravagant rates charged in other locations because of March break. This hotel is more dated than most of the Hampton Inns that I regularly stay at. The room had an odor than was not pleasant. On the plus side of the stay the staff was friendly and helpful and they have a shuttle service that will take you to 2 locations. The Metro trolley system and the Old Town area on King St with lots of great dining to partake in. Also another bonus to this location if you arrive at the Ronald Regan Airport you can take the trolley car Yellow Line going left if you are facing the trolley to Huntington Station which is the 4th stop and call the Hotel Shuttle to pick you up. Do not rent a car and utilize the transit and take in the Smithsonian Museum's.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us. We're always looking for guest reviews to help provide the necessary input into how we're doing. We have just completed a renovated our guest rooms with upgrading the bedding to 2 queen size beds and all new furniture and carpeting . We will discuss your comments with our housekeeping department as well. We hope we'll have another chance to serve you and your family the next time your travels bring you to Alexandria.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Hampton Old Town is a great place; we really can't brag on it enough. For our particular trip it was very reasonably priced and it is proximate to the Huntington Metro Station. The hotel provides a 24 hour shuttle that will deliver you right to the door of the metro station, Reagan International, or Old Town Alexandria; it worked wonderfully and made accessing downtown DC a breeze. It is probably a four minute shuttle ride to Huntington station. The hotel is also about 12 minutes from Mt. Vernon and overlooks a country club on the back side of the property. The rooms were very clean and seem to have been updated recently. The shower/bath also had very good water pressure (funny how that can make a difference). The hotel TV channel selection is also substantial. Overall, we would recommend this property and would not hesitate to stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all comments and will share them with our staff. Please visit with us again on your next trip to Alexandria.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Be sure to have a good street map with you. Getting in & out of this hotel can be a royal PITA. And walking to any nearby restaurant or other retailers is extremely difficult. Worse than Frogger, even during normal "light traffic" hours. The back side of the hotel overlooks a drainage slew and a unkempt golf course. Cannot see the Potomac River from back of hotel. Hotel is good for an overnight stay when traveling through. Free breakfast was average with hot eggs & sausage links + the usual Belgian waffles.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very clean and good quality workmanship in terms of construction. New carpets and rooms clean. H/A had a very spacious room with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Big bathroom. Sofa had bumps but good for kids to sleep on. Will stay in the future for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lidia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We are quite familiar and regular customers for Hampton Inns and the Hilton Hotels family. We enjoy that we can know what to expect with our stays. This particular experience surpassed our expectations. My wife and I were looking to be in the DC area for the holiday weekend. We got an amazingly low rate and thought we would give it a try. The deal we got was great on its own. When you compare what you get at this particular site compared to other DC locations (and other hotels) it makes the decision easy. The staff was receptive and helpful. There was free parking. There was a great complementary (free) hot breakfast every morning. It also includes free shuttle to and from the Huntington (Yellow Line) Metro stop. You just let the front desk know when you want to go, and then call when you are ready to get picked up. Each time it took about 2 minutes for the shuttle to be ready and take us or pick us up. The rooms were clean and had all the modern amenities that are nice, such as extra outlets and usb hookups on the nightstand. Overall we had a great stay and the extras (free parking, free shuttle, free breakfast) pushed this stay over the top to make it one of our better travel experiences to the DC area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "front" of the hotel face a busy highway. I don't recall noise being an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This Hampton Inn & Suites is in an excellent location close to Metro, the Crate & Barrel Outlet and steps away from amazing restaurants and shops. This hotel offered tremendous value and location and what's not to love - the breakfast was also included. If your travels take you to Old Town Alexandria and you don't mind walking around, this is the value option for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeValdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £71 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing