We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

While staying at the hotel I interacted with the desk staff on a number of occasions to set up shuttle service, make purchases from the little convenient shop and to ask a couple of questions. Each and every time was a pleasure. The staff actually listened to what I was saying and they were personable to deal with. I was not just a task that needed to be crossed off of the list, they wanted to make sure we were happy and we were. We used the shuttle service every day that we were there and the system that the hotel staff has in place couldn't be better. We never waited more than a few minutes, the staff would contact the driver to make sure they knew we were waiting or they would get someone to drive the bus for us to take us to the Metro. The drivers were friendly, efficient and quick to take us where we needed to go. We also took advantage of the complimentary breakfast in the morning. We have experienced similar "breakfasts" at other establishments but they rarely if ever have been as good and well maintained as this one. The staff was attentive to making sure the breakfast was stocked, the food was fresh and the presentation was neat and functional. The area was clean and very welcoming. By being able to actually have a full breakfast we were able to skip buying breakfast at a restaurant and this made the stay that much more economical. At other places it was simply a place to grab a cup of coffee and maybe a danish and not actually have a real breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    340
    132
    50
    39
See reviews for
441
240
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We enjoy staying at Hampton Inn and Suites when we travel. I trust that whatever city they are located in, there is a certain measure of quality that can be relied on. While staying at this Hampton Inn, we appreciated the convenient shuttle service which ran regularly to Old Town and the Metro. The drivers were very polite and extremely efficient. However, there are some negatives that should be addressed. Although our room appeared to be very clean, there was a strong chemical smell in the bathroom. It did not smell like a cleaning agent such as bleach. This smell, as well as, one of the elevators not working were concerns mentioned by other guests in prior reviews. During stays at other Hampton Inns, I appreciated that the hotels have always had hot coffee with half n' half available throughout the day. However, at this location, liquefied nondairy creamer was offered and the coffee was only hot in the morning. This hotel was very busy and we enjoyed our stay, but I would probably book our next reservation at a different location and hope for a good cup of coffee and a bathroom that did not smell like something that was potentially harmful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all comments from our guests so we can continue to strive for excellence in making our future guest's stay as pleasurable as possible. I would like to investigate the bathroom issue you mentioned. Could you please contact me at the hotel with your room number. Also, the creamer that we offer on our coffee station is Coffee Mate which is the standard product for Hampton Inns that we changed to in the recent months. As for the coffee not being hot in the afternoon, I will forward you comments to that department to look into and make any corrective adjustments. Please visit with us again to that we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was in town for a convention and the family was with for a few of the days. The rooms were pretty good. I was able to get one of the large suites Room X25 (x represents the floor). The great part of this hotel is the free shuttle to the metro. So although it isn't on the metro line, you can save money by staying here and shuttling over to the metro. Parking at the hotel is free. The main down side is there are no convenient food options. Breakfast is included and is ok..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My stay at this hotel was very satisfactory aside from the noise from one or more tour groups in the evening while I was trying to go to sleep. I do wish their escorts could have controlled them better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I attended a conference in the area and needed a convenient and moderately price location with basic amenities, this Hampton Inn had what I needed. Location in Alexandria VA, shuttle to and from airport (National), to and from the METRO and to and from Old Town Alexandria. The room was OK, the morning breakfast was well done and the choices were good. This is a good spot for the traveler to Alexandria.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

One elevator was BROKEN. The other elevator was CONTINUOUSLY in use by the housekeeping staff. No one wants to ride in an elevator w/their luggage & a cart of other people's dirty linen and trash. Check-in staff does not greet you or make eye contact. They were not at all professional, and did not do service to the Hampton Inn reputation. They were paper pushers just stamping the time-clock.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for all of the issues you encountered during your time with us. We've addressed our team in regards to your review and the necessary adjustments will be made. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel was very convenient to DC Reagan airport and metro via the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus. The shuttle also went to the heart of Old Town Alexandria. (This was important since I hate to drive in DC. Lots of traffic and parking issues.) The rooms were comparable with most Hamptons (nice room, very comfortable bed, good shower). The staff was terrific, friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked with many options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I will pass along your comments to the staff and please visit us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing