We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
new bern, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Clean, reliable, ideal location. The on-demand, free shuttle to the metro station worked out really well. Spacious, quiet rooms with clean and comfortable bedding and mattress. The staff members were all friendly and knowledgeable. There was ample, free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hope K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    331
    127
    48
    37
See reviews for
429
233
42
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not to be confused with the location (and prices!) of the Hampton Inn at National Harbor, this hotel is just across the I 95 Bridge. You have the same room, same great breakfast and much more to choose from for a fraction of the cost. There is a free shuttle to Old Town Restaurants and the DC Metro. You will need a car to make it work, but it takes just minutes to cross the bridge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only issue was the quality of the shower head. Not quite acceptable for the cost of the room. the check in process was slow as the computer was 'slow' however the attendant was very helpful and did apologize for the delay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a great trip, warm caring staff that makes you feel at home. We, my family enjoyed being around these people we each treated the other like old friends, the drive to the Metro Station, Old Alexandria were filled with quiet or conversation as you wished. The simple little things like being respectful cannot have any price put on them, this place made by the staff has our money again when we need a place outside of DC!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank C G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I escorted a group of middle school students to DC and we stayed at this hotel. It was clean, the staff was very helpful, breakfast was good. Group sales was very easy to work with and helped with all requests.

Room Tip: I did not use the shuttle service but understand it was very good from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmakersnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great location; nice, clean room with good amenities. Close to major highways and lots of things to do going in any direction. Parking lot is OK, but could be better marked and organized. Price is a bit high, but so is everything in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

While staying at the hotel I interacted with the desk staff on a number of occasions to set up shuttle service, make purchases from the little convenient shop and to ask a couple of questions. Each and every time was a pleasure. The staff actually listened to what I was saying and they were personable to deal with. I was not just a task that needed to be crossed off of the list, they wanted to make sure we were happy and we were. We used the shuttle service every day that we were there and the system that the hotel staff has in place couldn't be better. We never waited more than a few minutes, the staff would contact the driver to make sure they knew we were waiting or they would get someone to drive the bus for us to take us to the Metro. The drivers were friendly, efficient and quick to take us where we needed to go. We also took advantage of the complimentary breakfast in the morning. We have experienced similar "breakfasts" at other establishments but they rarely if ever have been as good and well maintained as this one. The staff was attentive to making sure the breakfast was stocked, the food was fresh and the presentation was neat and functional. The area was clean and very welcoming. By being able to actually have a full breakfast we were able to skip buying breakfast at a restaurant and this made the stay that much more economical. At other places it was simply a place to grab a cup of coffee and maybe a danish and not actually have a real breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing