We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Gibsonia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family trip”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We liked the location, the free shuttle to the metro, the free parking and the free breakfast. The elevator was broken and no one employed by the hotel seemed to care or seemed to want it fixed. I won't stay there again unless the elevators are working. It was a 5+ minute wait and that got old real quick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    332
    127
    48
    37
See reviews for
429
234
42
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hard to beat this property for convenience. It is three blocks to the King Street Metro which will take you anywhere you want to go. Two stops from National Airport. The property is well maintained, quiet and not crowded. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Like many business hotels, this property has a multi-tiered pricing structure for weekend vs weekday stays. The initial rate is inviting but the total can be much larger if you stay into the weekday period.

Room Tip: sixth floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Hampton Inn & Suites is well located near Old Town Alexandria and the Metro. The free shuttle service was great to have along with the free parking and complimentary full breakfast. The staff was great. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. With the microwave and refrigerator in the room this was great for longer stays. I would return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were a tour of 55 people and our room keys were handled with no problems. Great rooms and very clean and very nice bathroom with all the goodies. Great buffet breakfast and plenty of seating. Staff was great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: These rooms seem to be a sure thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2seniors2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. In a great location, minutes from D.C , yet far enough away . Lots of restaurants in the area. The room was clean and breakfast's were good as well. The staff was very helpful as well. The only thing that was not all about Hampton was the welcoming. They did not acknowledge me as a Hilton Honors customer , and I cant remember the last time that happened, but hey, lets not be picky here. I highly suggest this hotel for trips to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel was clean, staff was very helpful. Great location to DC and beyond Breakfast provided good start to the day, many choices Will stay again This was our second stay at this hotel. On a trip from New England to North Carolina stopped to visit son who lives in DC. Very close to Old Towne

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a trip to DC with my sister and her husband. Even though there was a little bit of a mix-up with our room reservations at check in, the front desk staff remained friendly and professional and quickly gave us the rooms we had requested. We were very happy with the services this hotel provided - free shuttle from Reagan airport, free shuttle to Old Town Alexandria, and a free shuttle to the closest Metro station. It made it so easy to get around Alexandria and back and forth to DC for all of our sight-seeing. The rooms were clean, decent complimentary breakfast, plenty of parking. If we ever go back to DC, we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank alurofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing