We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'home base' for DC adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley,PA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great 'home base' for DC adventure”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a few days visiting DC, had a real nice time. Easy access off the highway. Suite was very roomy and comfortable. Breakfast was convenient - hhad usual Hampton-type options. Breakfast was busy each morning but plenty of seating and staff kept things well stocked. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly throughout (front desk, shuttle, housekeeping etc) Location convenient - took shuttle to Metro station and hopped on Metro train into the city for sightseeing each day so didnt have to worry about traffic and parking in the city. Called when got back that night and van was there to pick us up within 10-15 minutes. Has an outdoor pool but didnt get to experience because we were too tired from walking throughout DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVPADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    339
    131
    50
    39
See reviews for
438
239
44
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

These folks have really got the service part of the business down.
They were helpful on so many occasions, from the shuttle service picking us up at the airport to it dropping us off at the Metro station and downtown Kings street Old Alexandria to answering questions about local things and the best companies to contact etc...
Our room was nice and cleaned up well every day, the breakfast was great every morning and with a shuttle service that ran 24 hours a day we could just go as we pleased.

Well done and Bobby was the best driver of all!

Room Tip: We were in a central room on the third floor that was designed for ADA compliance, even though it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTumbleweed63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight on a drive down to Florida. The traffic was a bit of a beast for Memorial Day weekend, but we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's proximity to the highway. Once we got settled in our room (nice & clean) we called the front desk asking when the next shuttle would be. We headed down and within 10 minutes we were on our way. I was glad that we didn't try driving into Alexandria as the traffic was congested and parking would have been interesting. Our shuttle driver was great traversing the back ways into Old Town and depositing us right in front of City Hall. Lots of photo opportunities around City Hall (fountain, statue, random musicians, etc) and we went a few blocks away to Bilbo Baggins restaurant. Lots of shops to see on King St and you can hop on the free trolley to save your feet. Calling the shuttle to pick us up was easy (got to us within 10 minutes) and we had a comfy night's sleep at the hotel. (Minus a random party after 10pm behind the parking lot? We had to call the front desk and thankfully things quieted down soon after) Beds were firm, which we liked and breakfast was good (a bit hectic because of lots of school kids, but nice selection and still plenty of seating). The complimentary wireless also worked well. Definitely a good choice for seeing Alexandria and a definite consideration for seeing DC (the shuttle can take you to the Huntington Metro station) - the free parking is also a PLUS! Only con would be slight odor from bathroom toilet, but we tend to bring air freshener with us so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nicely appointed and maintained hotel in a central but odd location. Breakfast room is expansive and a fair number of choices for meal selection. Beds were new and firm (maybe a bit too much so for some). A little bit hard to get to if you are not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sablansr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for a place where you will wake-up, enjoy the city, and then return at night, this place is for you. The van driver will take you from/to the airport, metro station, and other close destinations (he even took me to the local 7/11). The driver is also a great source of local information.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandywine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The friendly and helpful staff made our stay very pleasant! I would definitely stay at this location again. I made my reservations at the last minute due to an early flight and threat of storms. The hotel was very convenient and close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson ms
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We did not realize how far from the heart of Old Town this was when we booked it and arrived from the airport with no transportation. They do offer a shuttle to the closest Metro station, Old Town, and the airport, so you can get by. However, there is nothing near the hotel (restaurants, convenience stores, things to do) so once you are heading in for the night you need to have whatever you want to avoid summoning the shuttle again. The staff was very nice and friendly, the rooms were typical for a HI as was breakfast. The shuttle drivers were also sweet and helpful. If you are going to spend time in Old Town, though, I'd check prices at the HI that is right on King Street. If you have transportation, it may be worth it to save the difference in cost and drive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LetsMaketheMostofIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing