We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had four nights here and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. The attendants and manager were very accommodating. The shuttle service was excellent. We were so happy when were treated so well. The pool helped us to cool down on hot humid days. The breakfasts were excellent. Thanks to all concerned we had a great holiday there.

Room Tip: 4th floor perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel at half the price of other hotels that are 5 miles closer to DC/Airport.

Rooms were quite up to the normal Hampton Inn standards. So was the breakfast spread.

A very good less pricey stay for DC visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The front desk managers were particularly caring and helpful. They came to our rescue after a bad VRBO.com experience. Each step of the process was centered on customer service and they exceeded our expectations for having a smooth and restful vacation. I highly recommend staying here if visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank AmyMitchell1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great experience at the Hampton. They answered our many questions about traveling in and around and to DC. Free shuttle to metro and to Old Alexandria was great. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank IowafarmwifeHull_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Needed an 'office' in the DC area to support some work, the Hampton gave me just what I wanted. Good sized twin room, decent desk with plenty of power outlets. Friendly, welcoming staff, clean and well looked after. Business Center equipped with USB driven printers. Outlook is a bit urban on one side, see photo, the other looks onto the river and the National Harbour. Access from Route 1 going from Alexandria was a bit of a puzzle, ended up going past and doing a U further down the road! Breakfast is adequate, the usual Hamptonesque fare of scrambled eggs, sausage, breads , bagels waffles etc while their propensity of not having to do any washing up afterwards is probably keeping the accounts of the US styrofoam plate industry in excellent health. There is little within walking distance, so lunch involved driving over to the nearby "National Harbor". With such a grand name, I was bemused to find a couple of short jetties and a poor imitation of the London Eye. However there were plenty of eateries to choose from. The jewel in the crown of this Hampton however, is their excellent shuttle services, one to the Metro stop and the other into the heart of Alexandria Old Town with its plethora of restaurants . The buses run 24 hours, and the desk staff are all too pleased to tell you when the next one is due, apparently an average wait of 10 minutes is the norm. During my two night stay the Hotel was laden with families on vacation, however, quiet enough during the night. The complimentary WiFi was excellent during the day but was noticeably slower in the evenings. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosketoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family stayed 4 nights while visiting DC. We always choose Hampton and this is why! Great rooms, nice pool which actually had a lifeguard which was nice. Free shuttle to the train station which was a mile away and the drivers were excellent. They not only drove you but they gave advice on using the Metro and places to go while visiting. It was an all around great stay. Would definitely recommend this Hampton. We were actually impressed with the cleanliness of DC as a whole and the friendliness of the workers and the citizens. Very impressed by the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed three nights here. Had a very good experience. When we checked in on a Saturday night, it was quite noisy and busy in the lobby. However, once we got to our room (on the fifth floor), it was very quiet. Room was large and updated with great queen beds. Very clean. Housekeeping did a nice job! Friendly service. Breakfast area was busy as expected. Shuttle drivers were very accommodating. Never waited more than ten minutes for them to arrive. Free breakfast, parking, wifi, and free shuttles to metro and Old Town Alexandria. It's a great value for families. We didn't use the outdoor pool, but looked like the kids were enjoying it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay and I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit with us again when your travels bring you back into the Alexandria Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,507 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £76 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing