We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Alexandria)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Alexandria)
View Hotel
The Virginia Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
551
387
156
54
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
387
156
54
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfree shuttleshuttle servicehuntington metro stationnational harborthe breakfast areawafflesfree breakfastoutdoor pooldc areafront desk staffyellow linehotel shuttlebreakfast staffnice stayhot breakfastbusiness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had four nights here and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. The attendants and manager were very accommodating. The shuttle service was excellent. We were so happy when were treated so well. The pool helped us to cool down on hot humid days. The breakfasts were excellent. Thanks to all concerned we had a great holiday there.

Room Tip: 4th floor perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel at half the price of other hotels that are 5 miles closer to DC/Airport.

Rooms were quite up to the normal Hampton Inn standards. So was the breakfast spread.

A very good less pricey stay for DC visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The front desk managers were particularly caring and helpful. They came to our rescue after a bad VRBO.com experience. Each step of the process was centered on customer service and they exceeded our expectations for having a smooth and restful vacation. I highly recommend staying here if visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank AmyMitchell1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great experience at the Hampton. They answered our many questions about traveling in and around and to DC. Free shuttle to metro and to Old Alexandria was great. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank IowafarmwifeHull_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Needed an 'office' in the DC area to support some work, the Hampton gave me just what I wanted. Good sized twin room, decent desk with plenty of power outlets. Friendly, welcoming staff, clean and well looked after. Business Center equipped with USB driven printers. Outlook is a bit urban on one side, see photo, the other looks onto the river and the National Harbour. Access from Route 1 going from Alexandria was a bit of a puzzle, ended up going past and doing a U further down the road! Breakfast is adequate, the usual Hamptonesque fare of scrambled eggs, sausage, breads , bagels waffles etc while their propensity of not having to do any washing up afterwards is probably keeping the accounts of the US styrofoam plate industry in excellent health. There is little within walking distance, so lunch involved driving over to the nearby "National Harbor". With such a grand name, I was bemused to find a couple of short jetties and a poor imitation of the London Eye. However there were plenty of eateries to choose from. The jewel in the crown of this Hampton however, is their excellent shuttle services, one to the Metro stop and the other into the heart of Alexandria Old Town with its plethora of restaurants . The buses run 24 hours, and the desk staff are all too pleased to tell you when the next one is due, apparently an average wait of 10 minutes is the norm. During my two night stay the Hotel was laden with families on vacation, however, quiet enough during the night. The complimentary WiFi was excellent during the day but was noticeably slower in the evenings. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosketoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews