We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for D.C. touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good for D.C. touring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed July 11-18 and check-in was quick and smooth. We not happy with our first room on the second floor after the first night - dusty rug and flooding toilet - but no problems with front desk moving us to another 2-bedroom suite on the fourth floor - much cleaner. Both rooms were first off the elevator so a little noise with people getting on and off the elevator but no elevator machine noises. Other guests had trouble with metro shuttle wait times but we did not - very convenient. We just called the front desk when we needed a pick up. Pool is older and small but we had towels when needed. Breakfast was great - kids loved the Krispy Kreme donuts and lots of selection. We were up early to get into Washington by Metro every day so no breakfast line-ups (waffle machines) for our group. We really just came to the hotel to sleep after a day of touring Washington so we did not spend much time in the hotel. We travelled with two other families who both liked their rooms and the hotel location and price. The other families that travelled with us did experience long waits with the shuttle at the Metro. The shuttles also run to and from the town of Alexandria as well as Metro.

Room Tip: one suite per floor and each are first off the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misled m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    328
    125
    47
    37
See reviews for
420
230
40
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was probably the worse I've seen for the amount of money they charge. The front desk didn't seem to be too overly concerned about much of anything. The elevators didn't work for most of my stay. My mother, who is in a wheel chair, couldn't go outside the building by herself because the handicapped door didn't open when you pushed the switch. Most of the channels on the cable TV didn't work. When the tech came to fix it, he claimed he was going to the roof to work on the dish and then disappeared. And the simplest of tasks, having hot coffee in the lobby seemed to be beyond their ability and the coffee in the lobby is always cold! Save yourself the trouble and money and stay at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here twice in July 2014. The first time there was a very large family reunion taking place in the hotel so I chalked a lot of what I saw and experienced up to an overwhelmed staff. Unfortunately when I returned about 2 weeks later the same problems were still present. The front desk staff was unprofessional and unhelpful. All little things but when taken together it leaves a bad taste in your mouth for the hotel. 1-At check-in I stood there for several minutes to while the two staff at the desk worked on their computers and did not acknowledge my presence. When I said "excuse me," I was told in a very sharp and unkind tone "we will get to you in a minute." 2-One staff member was wearing a polo shirt with stains and tears in the front. Neither seemed to be wearing any type of uniform. 3-The back door was broken (off its tracks due to the high winds) and when a group of us made our way inside one of the women let the front desk staff know. She was sharply told "we know about it" - it was clear they had already been told repeatedly. How about you post a sign? Then people won't try to help you out by telling you and you don't have to feel annoyed by the repetition? Anyway during both visits the rooms were an acceptable level of clean but could've been better. Hotel isn't in a great location but offers a decent value for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went to this suites hotel because we were a family of five and rather than pay for two rooms we opted for a suite which came out to $200 with taxes. The lobby is clean and the employees for the most part friendly. The pool attendant/lifeguard was NOT friendly nor helpful. Don't believe he wanted to be there. No towels at the pool. The rooms were extra clean an comfortable. The "view" room faces a forest of trees and what seems to be a gold course in the distance. Summer sausage and "omelette" from pseudo eggs. Fresh donuts, waffles, oatmeal am an assortment of cereals. The breakfast attendant was uber nice and must have worked at Chik Fil a. An all around good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idreamov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great Hotel, Great rooms, the Food service and Bar help is fantastic!!! Everyone made me feel as though I was home! I highly recommend this hotel and will return whenever I am coming to the Washington DC / Northern Virginia area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hampton Inn's are always a great deal. Hotel was clean, room was great, service was great and the free hot breakfast is always a nice treat. The free shuttle service to the metro Station and to Old Town Alexandria is very good. Saves time and money. Enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: All suites are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbull83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was looking to stay at an Embassy Suites in Alexandria or DC, but found the lack of a pool, or expensive parking a turn off. We came across the Hampton Inn & Suites in Alexandria, and it was a much better value. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, the shuttle to the METRO was excellent, and free parking were very convenient. The breakfast, while not as "premium" as Embassy Suites, was not the typical cold cereal and toast of most places, it had a hot food service, that changed each day, you cook waffles,and rotated fruit selections. I would stay again on another trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing