We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
CHICAGO IL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Old but nice and Comfortable”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for one night with my family during a road trip while I am passing through Alexandria and the hotel was not hard to find, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I got a room on the second floor and the only problem was that there was no elevator for guests but only one for handicap people. Additional bonus for this hotel is that you can get a brief history lesson from American past.

Room Tip: Call in advance to reserve a room at the first floor if you do not like to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAVARO-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby C, Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel. We were so happy to have you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay as well. if you come back to visit again and you don't get a room upstairs just let our drivers know and they will be happy to assist you with your luggage up the stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    232
    84
    37
    21
See reviews for
231
180
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peyton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Best Western Old Colony Inn was the perfect place to stay for our Washington D.C. vacation. The hotel is just moments away from Braddock Road Metro stop (and with the free shuttle service there is no need to worry!) and then a short trip on the Yellow line to the center of D.C. The best part was that we got away from the "city" atmosphere for a peaceful night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We got to the hotel real late around 3 AM. It is best for the value rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing it had everything one can ask for in breakfast. We enjoyed our stay minutes away from DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medihaaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for giving us your comments about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come visit us again when you are in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Since my previous review of about a year ago I have stayed at this location several times so I think I should update the review based on experience since then.

As other reviewers indicate, this hotel is not "fancy" - but if you are looking for a clean well-run place with a very good staff, great location, and very good value for the money, the Best Western Old Colony Inn should definitely be considered.

When I wrote my previous review, I was disappointed when the ownership changed and it looked like they were going to go "really cheap" on a property that is not very elaborate to start with. But since then they have updated the lobby/reception area and have maintained a very good staff. The rooms are clean and the beds seem new. The free breakfast is so-so but it suffices since I'm not a big breakfast person anyway. Internet works reliably.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place is about as bare bones as you get. No elevator, one main entrance (the exits on both sides of the motel lead you to the outside with no hope getting back in- a bit sketchy feeling)- THe hallways are freezing- there is no restaurant or pool-just great proximity to Washington DC. I didn't come for the sights but to visit my parents for a week. t thought I was getting a good deal with the $87 dollar nightly rate but turns out that the Holiday Inn ( a block away) had a rate of 80 dollars a night- they have a restaurant and pool and elevators. I wish I had gone there instead of spending four nights here. If you have a big family and want an economical place, I'm sure this is a good enough place. But if you're coming for relaxation, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am sorry you were not happy with your accommodations. We are an older hotel in Alexandria, but we have great service and clean rooms for a good nights stay. I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel staff at this Best Western are the most helpful group. They were welcoming, accommodating, and just as pleasant as any place I've stayed. They were professional yet went out of their way to make us feel like family. We had a small baby and they lugged cribs and luggage, well outside of their realm of responsibilities. The best!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BeeTee8829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby C, Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
BeeTee8829,
We are so happy to hear from you and know you had such a good time here at the Best Western Old Colony Inn. Thank you for taking the time to send in your survey and comments regarding our hotel to Trip Advisor.
Please come back and visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was very nice stay. I enjoyed shattle bus bringing to metro station and to Ronald Reagan Aeroport. Staff was very friendly. There was good internet connection, and priter to use. Many cheap restorans around withg good quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arakel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Property: Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Cost $10 Per Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing