We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We just returned from a trip to Washington, DC. The hotel was very nice. We had the “handicapped accessible King Suite”. The kitchen / bathroom /living room and bedroom were very clean and spacious.

There was little variation with breakfast – potatoes, biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and waffles. Of course, they also had cereal, fruit, and muffins. We returned early enough to see the manager’s reception one evening. It was ‘Mexican Fiesta” night. A quick glance showed finger foods such as cheese, broccoli, and cauliflower and hot foods such as burritos and fried rice. The food smelled and looked appetizing.

We chose to drive into the city each day instead of using the Metro; it really is not that far of a drive, maybe 15 minutes and for our family it was actually cheaper than parking and using the metro.

The only negative that we had was that when we requested directions to local restaurants they evening clerk only suggested the fast food places located across the street and a diner that was located 2 blocks up the street. The last evening there I did a restaurant search and found a shopping area with many restaurants 3.7 miles away at the Ballston Common – wish that we had known this on the first night.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom2ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    164
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
391
92
25
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Traveling with more than two children can be a challenge as far as hotels go. Our family of five is rarely accomodated well. Took others' advice and stayed four nights at this hotel.
Our suite was set up much like some condos we have stayed in on previous vacations. Separate bedroom with a door! Beautiful living area. Nice kitchen with all the necessities. Clean, nicely set up bathroom with separate sink/mirror area from the toilet/shower. Great breakfast compared to any usual morning hotel fare. The dinners are nice at night--simple but welcomed after a long day of sight-seeing and spending $!! Granted, it's not like ordering at a restaurant, but it's included in the cost and saves time, money and energy!
One drawback is the distance to the city, but after one day, we have the system down. I would say without a car, plan on about 45 minutes via bus and then metro. The buses are confusing until you learn the numbers and stops, but a short walk from the hotel (two blocks). We rode the bus about 30 minutes to the King Street or Pentagon Metro stop and then about 10 min. and up to various locations around the city. The metro is easy to learn and clean and easy to use.
The hotel pool was not open--a disappointment, but I guess we missed it by just a few days. The hot tub (open 24 hours) is nice and clean and a treat on sore feet!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for families with older children if you do not have a car to get around the city. Otherwise, I would recommend it all around as a terrific stay.

  • Liked — Family friendly suite
  • Disliked — Tricky transportion without a car
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ajackkfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in the Big Apple
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

So thrilled to say that this hotel lived up to its rep. The design of the room was very inviting: kitchen/dining area, living room area, bedroom, large dressing area and bathroom. The personnel couldn't have been cheerier or more helpful. The breakfast was varied and allowed us to stick to our diets (if we wanted to). I'm usually nervous about hotels because I give them special instructions on cleaning the room before my arrival: no aerosols, no scents, no smelly cleaning products. As you can imagine, some hotels comply; others I have to wait while they ready another room because they "forgot." Here the suite was perfect and the hotel in general did not have that awful (to me) antiseptic hospital smell. Location: barely 5 miles to King St. wh ere there are great restaurants and stores, the pier, etc., 15 mins to the Pentagon City Mall, etc. A great place and very reasonable. We even got a free upgrade to a King size bed. Go there!

  • Liked — design of the room - so relaxing
  • Disliked — distance from Washington DC (suburban location)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Our family stayed at this hotel while visiting D.C. It is a fairly convenient location, but I would have preferred to be closer to the city. We stayed 7 nights so the lower per night room rate was important to us. We also wanted a hotel that included a nice breakfast. My son likes having fresh made waffles in the morning and they did have a waffle maker so we were happy with that. They did not have the fresh strawberries and whipped cream that we have gotten at other hotels so that was disappointing. Overall the breakfasts were fine. The hotel advertises that Monday – Thursday a light meal is served between 5 – 7 p.m. A menu posted in our room gave us a somewhat vague description of what was going to be offered. We figured the cost of these meals was built into the room rate so we tried it for the 3 nights that we were back by 7 p.m., but the food was really quite bland and not of high quality. Another family mentioned they felt the same way also. The staff that works in that area was very nice but they were limited to just reheating food that had already been prepared. There is a salad bar each night although the variety did not change and there were a lot of items missing that I like on a salad. If you stay here, I would suggest budgeting money to eat out each night. There are a lot of great restaurants in D.C. and the surrounding areas. We enjoyed our meals out which is part of the fun of being on vacation for our family. Our room at the Homewood Suites was quite nice as was the majority of the hotel. Our room could have used a bit of updating and there were a few areas in the main part of the hotel that could have used some freshening up but overall the hotel is in excellent condition. The pool was closed for the season, but I glanced at it and did notice that it was quite small (about the size of your normal backyard pool). We tried the hot tub but it was set at too high of a temperature and felt uncomfortable with a camera pointed at us the entire time we were in it. So we did not stay in it long. We thought it would be fun to rent a movie on the TV in our room, but was disappointed when we learned the cost – over $14. We went ahead only because our son was looking forward to it, but I felt ripped off so do not go there. Overall, this is a nice hotel, but I have stayed at better in other cities. I am not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Liked — We had a spacious room
  • Disliked — Evening Meals
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LEKNEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Spent two nights at this location and loved it! Hotel very conveniently located, 4 1/2 miles from Old Town. Restaurants and shopping nearby. Kitchen in suite was very well stocked and extremely clean. Bed very comfortable. The hot breakfast was great. Gravy and biscuits, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, made to order waffles, etc. Anything you might want! The hotel staff was very helpful in giving directions and answering questions. Large lobby and breakfast area. Best kept secret in the DC area. Will definitely stay here again! Excellent for families or business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel March 15th thru March 22nd 2008. I booked the hotel online. Because we were there during spring break the prices were a bit higher than I normally pay. The prices varied from $150 to $240, but I can say all the hotels that I looked at ratchet up their rates during the holidays.

Starting from the lobby of the hotel it has an area that they serve breakfast, an area were coffee, tea and hot cocoa is available 24 hours and a small store with frozen goods and small items. There is also a business center where a computer is hooked up to a printer for guests to use(we booked out plane sets on this computer). Since it was still dropping down into the 30’s the pool was closed for the winter. There is a Jacuzzi on the bottom floor as well as a workout room. The staff were very helpful. Next to where you check in is a listing of places to eat.

I saw someone posted that a shuttle was available to take you to the metro. Unless they do the shuttle in the summer this is incorrect. The metro station is next to a shopping center several miles away and it’s at the shopping center were you park. It costs $8.00 and here is where you might want to consider just driving into DC. We parked for all day at a parking garage for $16.00 in DC three blocks away from the mall. Factor in your tickets for the metro and it was pretty much the same cost.

Back to the rooms, we stayed in room 520 which is on the top floor all the way in the back. We were told this is the quietest room and it was. We only had one room next to us and we were very far away from the elevator. The room had one bedroom, one bathroom, kitchen, living room and fireplace. (See pictures). The bedroom and living room have TV’s. There is a cable for the high speed internet (free). The fireplace is gas and you must turn a knob to how long you would like the flames to last. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and we were provided coffee and tea. Popcorn is only served once so don’t even bother asking for another. My only complaint was the bed was a little softer than I like and it was hard for me to get to sleep.

On the refrigerator door is the menu for the manager social Monday – Thursday. When we were there they had Mon (Beef Stew), Tue (Potatoes), Wed (Italian night) and Thur (Meatball Hoagies). In addition to the main course, there was salad, and drinks. I don’t know if it is a complaint but there was so much food that we didn’t go out to dinner those four nights. Breakfast is pretty much the same with the only variation (bacon/sausage). You have scrambled eggs, a meat, biscuit and gravy, waffles, fruit, and cereals and pastries. I was getting a little burned out on scrambled eggs.

There is a Target within a 1/4 mile as well as a Giant and CVS. Fast food is also within walking distance, McDonalds across the street and Popeye’s and Windows down the street. The hotel was great and I definitely would stay here again

  • Liked — Helpful staff, great room
  • Disliked — Bed was a little to soft
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SacTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

I have been staying at the Homewood Suites for many years and it is always a pleasure to return. The staff at the hotel are some of the best I have ever met. They are so friendly and helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, exercise facility good, and breakfast is excellent.

Weekend rates are best! You can get a suite for low $100s vs regular rate that is over $200 generally.

Great value for families!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hortonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing