We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, United States
1 review
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed for two nights in August 2014 with my husband and two boys (6 and 2 yo). The boys loved the duck shaped pool. Complimentary breakfast was nice, but get there early! It was busy. The shuttle to the King St. Metro station was excellent. Very easy to navigate on the DC Metro, and I'm a country girl! The staff was extremely friendly. We'll stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Devon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle to the metro station and that it met your schedule needs.

Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback and business is greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    157
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
385
89
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We wanted to stay near Washington but not in Washington. This hotel is a 15 min hoppa bus trip (provided by the hotel) to Alexandria and then it was a 30 min rail journey into Washington itself.. Alexadria is well worth a visit in its own right with the free trolley bus running the length of the street and wide variety of shops and restaurants. The hotel itself was very clean and the room was very well equipped with large bathroom, separate lounge and kitchen area (if required). On a Monday to Thursday there was also a complimentary evening buffet meal - which was not expansive but adequate, breakfast was included in the room rate as well. Hotel staff were very helpful and overall offered very good value for money.

The real bonus here was the outside pool area which was great to cool off and relax and well used by the guests but not overcrowded, the hotel provided a lifeguard.

It is also within easy driving of Arlington National Cemetery which we visited during our stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoyingthesun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmont, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I absolutely loved our time at this hotel. Upon check-in we were greeted by Lomelita and Gigi who answered almost question we had about the sites and area. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast that was served every morning was delicious with a wide variety of foods to choose from. The evening reception was great too! We didn't have to buy dinner 3 out of the 4 nights we were there. They even had a coffee/tea station available 24 hrs a day. The dining area has an abundance of seating and was very comfortable. My kids loved the duck shaped pool and I loved the whirlpool! While chatting with the concierge I learned that the hotel was remodeled recently and I have to say that with everything that is offered it is well worth the money you pay for the stay, from now on I will definatley try to stay in a Homewood Suites while on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

chose this hotel based on other reviews online and location to washington DC. We were very pleased with everything. Our room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Staff very helpful. Breakfast and small meal served in evening was sufficient and well presented and attended to. It was an easy drive to DC as well as other areas of VA for sightseeing. Close to fast food places and other convenient stores. Pool and hot tub area nice and clean and open long hours. Only complaint would be the mattress on the pullout sofa bed. Definitely in need of new ones as ours was lumpy and could feel all the springs. We did complain and were given extra bedding to add as cushioning on the mattress. It helped a bit. My 8 yr old managed to sleep on it but did complain how uncomfortable it was. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family loved this place. It may not be as fancy and flashy as other hotels. It's like home away from home. Breakfast and dinner are decent. Perfect if you are on a budget. Nice driving distance to/from DC even during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

You can't go wrong if you stay at this hotel. Wonderful staff, food and accommodations. Beautifully decorated and the rooms are perfect. The proximity to the metro (and the shuttle takes you there and picks you up) was definitely a plus. Close to grocery stores and shopping stores such as Target, World Market, etc.. and restaurants like Olive Garden, Chili's if you don't stay for the dinners provided on Monday - Thursdays. You can't go wrong if you stay at this hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had stayed at the Hilton Homewood Suites in East Rutherford NJ and loved it so didn't hesitate to book at the Hilton Homewood Suites again when we were planning to visit Washington. We were disappointed that despite their claim on their website for "free drinks Mon-Thurs", they do not provide this. Apparently they are the only ones who don't (??). I checked again when we got home and it's still on their website.

Our room was nice but we had to call down because when we opened the fold-out couch, there were still dirty sheets on it from the last visitors. As well, a large used mop/swiffer was left in our bathroom one day.
The pool was beautiful but the 2nd night we were there we had to leave because there were 5 children running around the pool, jumping in, and throwing a large ball at each other. The lifeguard warned them to walk once and then otherwise did/said nothing. This was at 8:30 pm. The pool should be for all guests to enjoy, and, if there is a lifeguard, he/she should be monitoring this for safety as well as enjoyment of all guests..
The food was pretty good (although not as much selection as the other Homewood Suites) and the shuttle to the Metro was excellent and reliable. Staff was friendly. We stayed in the Hilton Homewood Suites in Syracuse on the way home and their meals/drinks/pool were far superior!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Property: Homewood Suites Alexandria
Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing