We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My Mom and I stayed at the Residence Inn Old Town South for an overnight getaway. The service was wonderful! I loved the fact that they offered shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town. Parking was easy ($18 per night, but it's hard to beat the convenience), breakfast was great, and the room was wonderful! Very clean and well decorated, our King suite fit our needs well. The was a kitchnette, and a writing tablet for making grocery shopping lists. The Residence Inn will do your grocery shopping for you at no charge! The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us navigate our unfamiliar surroundings. There is an IMAX movie theater and several restaurants within walking distance. There is also a convenience store and a Whole Foods nearby. Old Town Alexandria was awesome! Beautiful place to walk, eat, and browse. There is a free trolley that runs up and down King Street with numerous stops along the way. Overall, I have no complaints and only praises for this Residence Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1311, which is near the top floor and on the opposite side of the Metro which pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ginasettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hi theonlyregina!

Thank you for your review! I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and I'm glad we received such praise! :)

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria area.

Ps. I'm very familiar with Willow Spring....a great town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband was assigned the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle when doing a 30-day training in Northern Virginia. I joined him for the last week of his time. He had been bragging on the room and service, and I completely agree. Very spacious. Lots of drawer space, but closet way too small. In-room kitchen has microwave, stove-top, large refrigerator, and dishwasher. Essential utensils for light cooking. Cleaning staff outstanding and unobtrusive. Laundry room available, but laundry/cleaners same-day service available. Breakfast/dinner food adequate--standard fare, but kitchen personnel always pleasant and helpful. Front desk staff, especially Pam, extended themselves to provide best experience possible. Very convenient to two Metro lines--easy in and out of Washington, DC. We highly recommend this hotel, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank peggywelch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hello Peggywelch60,

Thank you very much for your review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful five star review. I am glad we were able to make your husbands 30 day visit as comfortable as possible, and I'm happy you were also able to enjoy the last week of the trip.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Have steyed three times in the past year at the Residence Inn Alexandria. Have had excellent servie checking in and checking out with no difficulty, Exercise facilities are excellent and rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank travis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

From check-in to check-out the service was top-notch! My room request was met and the cleanliness made me feel right at home. The morning breakfast and evening meal were always a welcome a satisfying dining arrangement after my long days.

Thank you and your personnel for showing me what "TRUE" customer service is. Your establishment will be the only place I stay when my travels bring me back to Alexandria. Have a great week, and thanks once again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have been staying at the Carlyle Residence Inn for over 3 years. I usually stay for a few days every couple of months. Additionally, many of my co-workers stay at this same hotel because of the great service, amenities, and location. I have stayed at several of the other hotels in the area and trust me, nothing compares. The rooms are terrific - up-to-date, clean, and nicely furnished with a separate work area - great for the business traveler. The internet is fast and free! Complimentary USA Today is available at the desk, and the complimentary breakfast is very nicely done with plenty of fresh food to select from. I highly recommend the manager's social Monday - Thursday with a complimentary meal and drink. These are in the evening and are a nice way to wind down a busy day in a stress-free environment. I do not usually drive there, but there is parking available on site. There is a modest business center with the ability to access the interent and print. It is located right off the lobby. Plenty of great restaurants in the area that you can comfortably walk to; and the always on time Metorail is only a block away. I use it for quick transportation to/from the airport. I have personally met the general manager, destination sales executive, and many of the staff - a better team you will not find. They have conference rooms on site for meetings, though I have not been in them yet. I highly recommend staying here for any trip in the area - it is my favorite place to stay in Alexandria!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the Metrorail are typically a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Patrick,
Thank you for such a great review! It is always great to hear from our guests, and I appreciate your taking the time to write. I'm glad you are able to take advantage of our all the amenities we have to offer. All of us at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The name Residence Inn may connote stuffy, old and drab. This Residence Inn is anything but!
The rooms (we had a basic studio) are fabulously decorated and comfortable. You enter into the kitchen area and the cherry cabinets, granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances immediately set the tone for modern and clean. The living room is funky and bright. The flat screen TV swivels from the sleeping alcove so that you can watch from the couch or bed.

Service was friendly and fast.

Breakfast was a bit underwhelming. Stale breads, greasy eggs. No one really seems to oversee breakfast and it was difficult to get attention for more bowls, syrup, etc. But it was free so hard to really complain that much.

We travel to Alexandria often to see family and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nickijags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Greetings nickijags!
On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, thank you very much for your very nice review. Your positive comments about the room, kitchens, flat screen televisions and overall impression of our property are very much appreciated. I also want to assure you that your comments about breakfast have been heard, and your feedback will be incorporated into training process. Our guest's comments enable us to continually improve, so thank you again.
Next time you visit your family in Alexandria, try to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. It's a great way to get around the local area, to the Metro stations, or the restaurants near the water in Old Town.
See you soon!
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

You can't go wrong! The service, Internet, and the room was wonderful. I travel the USPTO often and this hotel is where I always stay, and I always enjoy my stay. I would recommend it to anyone. I think it would also be a nice place to stay even if you were not there for business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Greetings Charles G!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. I was very pleased to read such positive comments. I hope you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service to and from the Metro, or getting to and from the USPTO. The complimentary shuttle is a great convenience!

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £85 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing