We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy French restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastille

Bastille
Reserve with OpenTable
Bastille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$59
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bashford Lane / Third St
Transit: Braddock Road Metro (closest with cab ride) or King Street Metro (with cab ride)
Description: Since 2006, Chefs Christophe and Michelle Poteaux's award winning brasserie and wine bar located in Old Town Alexandria has continued to offer guests a contemporary spin on French cuisine set within a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere. The Poteaux's creations are sparked by the use of seasonal, locally sourced and farm fresh ingredients. With an expansive wine list, unique draught and bottled beer selections and creative cocktails, Bastille has a little something for everyone
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy French restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Picked this restaurant at random, while on a solo overnight trip staying in Alexandria. It was a short walk from my hotel and I'm glad I was in the neighborhood. Sat at the bar with a great view into the kitchen. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and seemed to know most of the patrons by name. Always a good sign when a place is full of regulars! Soup of the day was a wonderful organic mushroom, with truffle oil, yum. An appetizer portion of mussels was more than enough food after that for dinner. Great selection of wines. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming modern French restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Was very pleased with our visit except that it was a very noisy weekend night. Room charming, service very good and menu choices interesting. Wine list was good and heavier on French wines, but could find reasonably priced wines. Would go back, but maybe on a week night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Much better than Jail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We started with a glass of wine and the beet slad which was exceptional. I had the duck breast and my wife had the moules. The meals were well prepared and flavorful. We enjoyed the meal and have recommended it to others. It's a little pricey but overall we thought it was worth treating ourselves. It is right next door the Metro Stage and little gem of a black box theater.
You can make a full evening by going to dinner and a show.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlPesa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

You'd think that it would be easy, in as rich, varied, and international a place as the DC capital region, to find something as simple and tried-and-true as a neighborhood French bistro. You know, for when all you want is a nice steak, some potatoes, and a bit of greenery (to feel virtuous), plus decent wine and good service, without having to mortgage the house to pay for it. And yet.
So it was with a smile and a sense of wonder that I walked into Bastille on a recent Saturday, to meet an old friend for one of our traditional fall meals (see above description). We've been sharing this meal for 30-plus years now, in various cities. It starts with the location: I had thought that this far north in Alexandria it was all residential, but the little complex that includes this restaurant is a bleep in that radar. It looks like a collection of old waterfront warehouses converted into a performance venue, two large shops of things international (mainly from the Far East), and this little French bistro. Cut to the chase: It's small; one main room inside, plus a few tables on an open-air terrace out front. The food is just darned good, every bit of it, no exceptions. The service is professional. The prices are reasonable. This place is a gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FallsChurch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expensive and over rated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Bastille's started out as a neighborhood French restaurant, good food and excellent service at a responsible price. After receiving glowing reviews from local newspapers, service slipped and prices increased.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RDCarerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bastille also viewed

 

Been to Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing