We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible find in Alexandria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An incredible find in Alexandria”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

What an incredible hotel. Complete class. Free wine each evening. Clean and classy rooms. Huge flat screen TV, in room fridge and safe. Complimentary use of various luxury pillows, iPods, etc. We received a free upgrade to a King Deluxe Suite. Free use of comfort bikes which we rode to Mt Vernon to tour Washington's home. Right on King Street in the heart of Old Town Alexandria and close to the free trolley stop and Metro. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for an incredible stay. Check out their website and join the Kimpton In Touch club.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersE_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    241
    94
    23
    9
See reviews for
196
463
93
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Stayed one night at the Lorien in May. Absolutely outstanding top to bottom. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was great and the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program recognition was superb! Can't wait to return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

my mother and i travelled about an hour and a half to old town alexandria for a little overnight getaway mother's day present. i knew i wanted to stay in a kimpton hotel (kimpton member), and when they ran a 30% off spring break special a few wks ago, i chose the lorien over the other kimptons (morrison house and hotel monaco), simply because it was newer, looked more modern and designed by the famed vicente wolf. (it was modern but without being pretentious or super minimalistic)

i'm so glad i did! i read the tripadvisor reviews and checked the photos...became excited about our visit. lorien did not come close to disappointing. and why not? here's why:

- as soon as you step in the place, you feel relaxed...it evokes serenity (it must be the light blue walls)
- the front desk greeted us happily and provided us with 2 complimentary wine vouchers, since we missed the standard kimpton 5pm wine hour. bonus.
- they gave my mom a pink rose (because my sister and i didn't get her flowers. her hotel stay and brunch at POV at the W Hotel in DC WERE her presents). double bonus.
- as part of the spring break special, we had a $20 dining credit, which we, unfortunately did not use.
- rooms and bathroom were clean and spacious. plush linens. flat screen tv. desktop computer in the room. did i mention CLEAN? (the lot used to be a parking lot, and they built and opened a hotel with 107 rooms in 2009, so everything was new'ish. brilliant!)
- did not go to the spa, but did work out in the fitness center. ample weights, about 5 or 6 treadmills with tvs along with other equipment.
- valet parking is $25, but that's standard there. parking is a challenge in the area anyway. the good thing is they let us keep our car there the day we checked out, while we "lunched" and walked around Old Town.
- absolutely pleasant experience.

excellent customer service from the front desk staff to the valet parker, to the bartender at Brabo, the restaurant in the hotel, owned by Chef Robert Wiedmaier. hotel is located on the north end of King Street, where Old Town Alexandria begins and where things are a bit quieter (this is a good thing). i'd go back in a heartbeat.

kimpton does it right, and it didn't skimp when building and designing the lorien! a return trip shall be in the works.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank slimmyd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Loved it, loved it, loved it.

Beautiful hotel, contemporary without trying too hard to be so.
Modern but still really comfortable. Great service.
Great location in Old Town Alexandria.

No complaints, definitely going back.
Didn't have a chance to check out the spa or restaurant while there, but it is one of our top venues for upcoming wedding...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

PROS:
1. Close to Washington DC Metro - 30 minutes to Metro Center
2. Some decent restaurants within walking distance
3. Wine reception every afternooon from 5-6PM
4. Coffe/Tea (only) available in morning until 9 AM
5. NYTimes/Washington Post/USA Today available daily (in limited quantities and not delivered to your room)
6. Friendly and professional staff
7. Clean with very pleasant cleaning staff
8. in-room computer with internet access (however screen did not display complete image)
9. Hotel-supplied bathrobes
10. 37 inch flat screen tv with full complement of channels including HBO
11. 24-hour room service
CONS:
1. We were given a "King Deluxe" room which was barely big enough for two people.
2. Room was very dark with only one window. Full room lighting was required at all times of day. No central light switch so all lights had to be tuned on individually.
3. Very noisy air conditioning system.
4. Sliding semi-transparent door to bathroom (with 1+ inch airspace between door and wall) afforded very little privacy. Could be uncomfortable for couples just getting to know each other!
5. Only one comfortable sitting chair in the room. The other chair was a desk chair with no adjustment ability. A conversation usually meant that one person had to sit up on the bed.
6. Hotel-supplied toiletries were surprising minimal and low end for a hotel that considers itself a luxury location.
6. No coffee maker in the room
7. No guest accessible ice makers. Ice was twice requested but only once delivered.
CONCLUSION:
Overall we were disappointed with this hotel. Compared with its neighboorhood competion we would only rate it as average.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia near DC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I chose to stay at the Lorien Hotel and Spa with my wife over our anniversary weekend this April 9th and 10th. Our stay was fantastic, made the more so by the excellent attention and extraordinary efforts by staff who literally catered to our every whim and then delighted us with unexpected services, courtesies and special treatment shown by the entire staff through out our stay at the hotel. From the simple acknowledgement and little head bows from the housekeeping staff to one instance when an employee of the spa raced ahead and took a moment to reach back and summon the elevator for me before moving along. The hotel is charming old style on the outside and modern and up to date inside, an excellent combination. But the people were what made it special.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07082006
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed here for two nights, our wedding night and an additional night. This is a quiet peaceful hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. We booked a terrace suite so we had plenty of room. Perfect hotel for a romantic weekend. Excellent staff. Located in Old Town Alexandria, in walking distance to all the attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07082006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing