We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Spent 2 nights at the Lorien this weekend. I found a nice deal at Jetsetter.com for a deluxe king room. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The room was not spacious, but was fine for the wife and I. It's urban chic and modern. The bathroom door is unique, so if you are uber modest you may want to opt for the Hampton Inn. But we enjoyed the weekend and the king st. vibe alot.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

After several visits to Alexandria during stays in the Washington DC area, we finally decided it was time to stay in this charming historic city. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site, its location, and the look of the hotel based on the hotel website photos and information. Overall, we were pleased with our choice.

We booked a Lorien Suite because we usually enjoy the extra space. This turned out not to be a wise choice. The overall suite space was large, but a big portion of it was a vast empty square area that had a nice desk against a wall, but otherwise was void of any useful space. A couch, chair, and TV where crowded into a corner off to the side. The separate bedroom was small given the overall space the suite provided. There was also a balcony, but it looked directly into another room that was very close by. The bathroom was huge with a clawfoot tub, open shower area, and big vanity. The overall look was stark but sexy. The soft blue and white color scheme of the suite was very nice and comforting, especially in the bedroom area. The in room computer for free internet access was easy to use and an outstanding room amenity.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant Brabo. The look of the room was cool and contemporary and the food and service were very good. We also enjoyed the complementary wine reception which is held in a small library-like room off the lobby that opens to a private courtyard with a fire pit and a wall of framed mirrors. There is a small attractive windowless workout room in the basement that had mostly cardio machines, and limited workout equipment. We did not use the spa across the hall.

The hotel is very nice and does provide a boutique feel that we enjoy. The hotel is located close to the metro station to downtown DC. However, it is on the less interesting end of the main shopping street, so how good the location is depends on what your needs are. There is a free trolley service from one end of King Street to the other, but we did not use it, choosing to walk.

Overall, the hotel is a great choice while in Alexandria. Next time we will just save some money and pass on the bigger suite.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Love this hotel! Modern, chic, and plush all rolled into one. Rooms have top of line technology (huge flatscreen and a new computer with free internet) plus small attention to detail in the decor (beautiful!!). Bathrooms are very cool with sliding glass "barn doors" and Aveda toiletries :) Service is excellent, someone came right away with an extra Aveda moisturizer and flatiron when I requested them.
Location is great! What a cute neighborhood that I never would have known about on my trip to DC. It's a short walk to the metro station, so you can go anywhere in DC while being out of the city. The area surrounding the hotel has cute cafes and shopping.
Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorienHotelManager, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Dear cjr83,

Thank you very much for writing about your visit with us. We are a brand new Kimpton Hotel and appreciate you pointing out how great our location is to all that D.C. has to offer. Please visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This hotel seems typical of a trend to focus on design aesthetics over functionality and comfort. On the surface, everything looks great, but the longer you stay, the worse the experience. The "deluxe" king room was so small (and I am accustomed to small hotel rooms) that there was only room for one bedside table. The bathroom design is not for anyone who is reserved or wants privacy; aside from the sliding glass door issue that other reviewers commented on, the position of the furniture in our room was such that you could sit on the bed, and view the bathroom occupant in the full length glass mirror directly opposite.

If you are staying on the pet floor, then be prepared to hear barking in the adjacent rooms as well as varying size and color stains on the carpet in the hall, the source of which you would rather not consider.

Service was well meaning but not particularily effective. We had requested a quiet room, high floor, away from the elevators. The room we were assigned was right next to the elevator, and when we asked to be re-assigned to a quieter room, this was done promptly. However, it was directly over the private event rooms, and there was a wedding that evening, which meant that we were treated to an endless cycle of "La Bamba" at a level so loud that the floor vibrated. Fortunately, the reception ended at about 12:15, and we didn't come in until late, so we missed most of it, but it was not anyone's definition of quiet.

On the plus side, good location, comfy bed and good linens, free wine in the evening, and the breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. But overall, you can do much better unless you buy into the style over function philosophy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

What an incredible hotel. Complete class. Free wine each evening. Clean and classy rooms. Huge flat screen TV, in room fridge and safe. Complimentary use of various luxury pillows, iPods, etc. We received a free upgrade to a King Deluxe Suite. Free use of comfort bikes which we rode to Mt Vernon to tour Washington's home. Right on King Street in the heart of Old Town Alexandria and close to the free trolley stop and Metro. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for an incredible stay. Check out their website and join the Kimpton In Touch club.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersE_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Stayed one night at the Lorien in May. Absolutely outstanding top to bottom. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was great and the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program recognition was superb! Can't wait to return to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

my mother and i travelled about an hour and a half to old town alexandria for a little overnight getaway mother's day present. i knew i wanted to stay in a kimpton hotel (kimpton member), and when they ran a 30% off spring break special a few wks ago, i chose the lorien over the other kimptons (morrison house and hotel monaco), simply because it was newer, looked more modern and designed by the famed vicente wolf. (it was modern but without being pretentious or super minimalistic)

i'm so glad i did! i read the tripadvisor reviews and checked the photos...became excited about our visit. lorien did not come close to disappointing. and why not? here's why:

- as soon as you step in the place, you feel relaxed...it evokes serenity (it must be the light blue walls)
- the front desk greeted us happily and provided us with 2 complimentary wine vouchers, since we missed the standard kimpton 5pm wine hour. bonus.
- they gave my mom a pink rose (because my sister and i didn't get her flowers. her hotel stay and brunch at POV at the W Hotel in DC WERE her presents). double bonus.
- as part of the spring break special, we had a $20 dining credit, which we, unfortunately did not use.
- rooms and bathroom were clean and spacious. plush linens. flat screen tv. desktop computer in the room. did i mention CLEAN? (the lot used to be a parking lot, and they built and opened a hotel with 107 rooms in 2009, so everything was new'ish. brilliant!)
- did not go to the spa, but did work out in the fitness center. ample weights, about 5 or 6 treadmills with tvs along with other equipment.
- valet parking is $25, but that's standard there. parking is a challenge in the area anyway. the good thing is they let us keep our car there the day we checked out, while we "lunched" and walked around Old Town.
- absolutely pleasant experience.

excellent customer service from the front desk staff to the valet parker, to the bartender at Brabo, the restaurant in the hotel, owned by Chef Robert Wiedmaier. hotel is located on the north end of King Street, where Old Town Alexandria begins and where things are a bit quieter (this is a good thing). i'd go back in a heartbeat.

kimpton does it right, and it didn't skimp when building and designing the lorien! a return trip shall be in the works.

Stayed: May 2010
Thank slimmyd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,476 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £129 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing