We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, staff and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Wonderful bed, great location, lovely bathroom, superb food, friendly staff and I for one cannot wait to return here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyAttwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Hello Texantasha!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Lorien Hotel and Spa. I am elated that your stay was a fantastic one! Have a great New Year and we all look forward to your return!

Best,

Lee Seiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    239
    93
    23
    9
See reviews for
192
459
93
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

This past weekend my husband and I celebrated our 15th year Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we step into the hotel until the time we left every memeber of the staff was customer service oriented. Thank you Lee and Pete for making us feel that we were regulars at your hotel, because now we will be. My husband arranged with the managers to have wine, rose pedals, candels and cupcakes set up in our room upon the return from dinner at The Bravo. Wonderfully done! Our room was very clean and spacious,we had the king spa soaking tub room. What a comfortable bed and a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mla225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Greetings!

In response to your wonderful summary of your stay with us, I wanted to let you know what a delight it was meeting you and hosting you for your 15th year wedding anniversary. We pride ourselves here at the Lorien Hotel and Spa on hosting your special occasions and making them memorable as well as magical. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make it wonderful for you! Have a happy New Year and we will see you very soon!

Best,

Lee Seiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Very nice and modern hotel well situated close to the center of Alexandria and the subway to Washington. The rooms are very nice with a modern touch and the bed is extremely comfortable. The restaurant is highly recommendable with an exquisite kitchen and a wide selection of belgian beer. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

We travel a lot for leisure and this experience compelled us to give a good review - had first class experience and great time. Use the free parking coupon and also order ahead a sweet dreams pillow.

Their restaurant is ok, I'd recommend trying out another restaurant - a number of them are on the same street that you walk by.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Lorien Hotel and Spa in Old Town Alexandria to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL and in the perfect location! We were able to walk to shops and restaurants and the hotel is only a few blocks from the Metro. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly and we loved that they offer their guests wine every evening in their lobby. The Hotel Manager, Lee, was always around to greet us whether we were coming or going and he even sent us a special anniversary gift of champagne. This was by far one of our best hotel experiences and we will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crackle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

The rooms here are clean & modern and the overall ambience is perfectly fine - it's a nice play to stay. However, the desk staff was consistently off putting; not blatantly rude, but they seemed annoyed they had to pay look up and "deal" with us. Such a contrast to other Kimpton hotels, particularly Morrison House in Old Town, where every employee has always been welcoming. There's a coldness here.. so, if that's an important aspect of your stay, go to another Kimpton in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorienHotelManager, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Dear Lola9,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I was disappointed to read about your experience with our staff here at the hotel. We do care very much about our guests at the Lorien Hotel and Spa and please know that your comments will be addressed. We do appreciate your comments on the ambience of the hotel and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

The hotel is charming and chic, but the wonderful, friendly service is what really makes this hotel stand out. Every single employee, from the valet, to the bellhop who carried our luggage and offered and went and got complimentary glasses of wine for us, even though the reception hour was over, to the desk clerk who pleasantly and quickly remedied a small mix-up, extended our checkout time and waived our parking fee (all without being asked!), everyone went above and beyond.

The room (a regular king) was on the small side, but well laid-out and nicely done. The bed was quite comfortable, the linens were lovely and soft. A computer is provided in room with free wi-fi, as well as a 42" lcd tv. Bathrobes in the closet, organic options in the in room snack bar, nice, chic and clean bathroom with AVEDA toiletries.

Very charming and lovely courtyard area outside with a modern firepit - perfect for enjoying your complimentary wine next to. :)

Only small complaint is that the sleek, frosted glass, barn-style sliding door to the bathroom is not very private. All the positives far outweigh, however.

The street is quite charming and has many lovely one-of-a-kind shopping and dining options from pricey to quite reasonable. We very much enjoyed Red Rocks fire brick pizzeria a few blocks down - excellent ingredients, well-prepared, friendly service, charming ambiance and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabfoodandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Property: Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing