We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint
Ranked #249 of 746 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Business Insider. Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Washingtonian Magazine. Voted "Best Burger Patty" by Washington Post. BGR The Burger Joint is helping lead the better burger market with a menu designed around our commitment to using only the highest quality ingredients. BGR's menu is designed around an exclusive blend of Prime, Dry-aged burgers, grilled over an open flame. Menu offerings include burgers, veggie burger, grilled chicken, turkey burger, lamb burger, ahi tuna burger, hot dog, kids meals, regular fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings, asparagus, handspun shakes, side salads, lettuce wraps, salad bowls and beer/wine and other seasonal specialties. Gluten Free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a fun place for a family! The staff was very helpful. They went out of their way to help. The burgers were great. I highly recommend the peach shake! Just be careful about the pricing. Everything is an add on so it can get pricey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denyse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRG. Great Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Burger is way better than Five Guys...Much larger...my wife and I split a burger and sweet potato fries..And a shake....asked for medium and it came out perfect...it is a cheap place to eat...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

You could get a not to dissimilar experience dining at Mickey D's--no table service, no plates (pizza tray things with the burgers on foil), only at a fast food joint I'd have fed my family of 4 for about half the price--and none of us ordered fries. The burgers are good, and if you are a burger snob you will love this place. But there are too many other places in Old Town where you can get a better value for your lunch.

P.S. We had to ask 3 times to have the soda machine fixed--it had nothing but diet soda when we were there. Either they were very short staffed or just not really on top of things.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French Lick, In
Level Contributor
216 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pricey and O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The burgers were good but the price is a little high for a order yourself place. It's also on the small side and if very many are dining it's a bit crowded.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dino2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You want a burger in Alexandria, eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Prime aged beef, all the french fry options and fountain drinks you can ask for. Get a BGR card and every 8th burger is free. Let's just say I've gotten 4 or 5 free burgers personally. I love this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing