We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, United States
1 review
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff was excellent and the hotel was very nice. It is close to the highway and to Old Town Alexandria. The fitness center is adequate and the pool was very clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Devon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Frederick H,


Thank you so much for giving our accommodations and staff members a 5 stars rating during your trip to Alexandria, VA. Our team takes pride in providing each guest with a memorable experience and I'm delighted they were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.


Sincerely,


Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    228
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
393
173
22
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, NC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Becoming overpriced for a Hampton Inn. The rates here are higher due to proximity to military base, so those who don't qualify for a government rate seem to pay more. Definitely not worth it. Used to love Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Linda M,

Thank you for your feedback in reference to your stay at our hotel. Sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was a poor value due to our close proximity to Fort Belvoir. We strive to keep our rates competitive/slightly lower than the comparable hotels close to Fort Belvoir. I am sorry that you felt penalized because you didn't qualify for a government rate ($167.00 - $224.00) believe me that is never our intent to make any guest that stays with us feel that way. It is my hope that you give Hampton Inn's another try in the future. I would love to hear back from you.


Kind Regards,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My stay at this hotel was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was above average for a hotel breakfast. The hotel offers quality complimentary coffee 24/7 and has white duvet covers for the bed that are extremely clean (both bonuses for me!). The location is less than 2 miles from the main gate of Fort Belvoir. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Leah L,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we were all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast selections, 24 hour coffee service, found our duvets covers extremely clean and how close we are to Fort Belvoir. If we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Fort Belvoir.


Sincerely,


Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A group of 14 of us spent 7 weeks at Ft. Belvoir for training. We first tried the on-base hotel, but the Hampton Inn was so much nicer and cheaper too.

The hotel has beautiful king size suits!

Ms. Toronda & her staff provide amazing customer service! She also gave us an excellent, discounted, rate.

Only 20 minutes to King street in downtown Alexandria, 30 minutes (without traffic) to DC. 5 minutes to Ft. Belvoir.

Room Tip: Some second floor room windows face the parking lot. The 2nd floor is really the ground floor. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mark_Kileen,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay. We appreciate your continued loyalty and your genuine words about our staff member Toronda. It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests has a positive experience every time they choose to stay with us and I am happy to know that you and your friends that were here for training did. Thanks again for the feedback we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very clean, great breakfast, helpful staff, comfy beds and pillows, easy to get to Metro with parking for cars, right around the corner from George Washington's Distillery---a very interesting place to visit! (only complaint is the air conditioner cycles off and on constantly and is very noisy)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Betty D from St. Louis,

Thank you for your feed back about our property, We are glad that you had a positive experience at our hotel. I was also glad to see tha you were able to visit George Washington's Gristmill. We hope that you will be back soon to visit more of Historic Mt. Vernon don't forget fall is just right around the corner and the and the colors of the season is something not to be missed. Intil we see you again I hope you have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon Hill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

the hotel forgot what it promised to do when I booked the reservation with regard to comps and or upgrades, don't promise what you can't deliver. When gifts went missing from the brides room all we got was a wall of denial and our employee's don't steal. SAhamme on you Hampton

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. Any time guests leave our hotel and are not 100% satisfied, we haven’t lived up to the expectations we put forward for ourselves. Our goal is to make your life easier, especially when planning for a special occasion like a wedding, and clearly we were not successful. In terms of the upgrades you were promised, I will personally look into where the breakdown in communication happened so we can improve for the future. In regards to the lost items, please know that we take your feedback very seriously. We did have some items left behind in the rooms, which were recorded in our lost and found and picked up at the front desk. Please contact me directly if there are any additional concerns or questions regarding this issue. Again, I want to personally apologize for the problems you experienced and thank you for sharing your feedback so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Positives: Very helpful front desk, good customer service, clean rooms. Negatives: extremely noisy air conditioning unit, with only on/off selection; off the beaten path in undesirable neighborhood; overpriced -----all things considered.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Address: 8843 Richmond Hwy, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites(R) Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate, the main gate of Fort Belvoir Military base, historic Old Town Alexandria, and downtown Washington, D.C.. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing supervised indoor pool (limited pool hours), 24-hour business center, meeting space, and a complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing