We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

To the Management:

I wanted to express my appreciation for the superior service I received during my stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel on Richmond Highway. In particular, Mr. Adolfo was very helpful and deserves a great deal of praise for his excellent customer service. Whether it was granting me small amenities for my room or just making sure everything was well during my stay, he carried his tasks in a very happy and professional manner. I will definetly be staying with you all again.

Pleasant Regards,
A returning costumer :)

Room Tip: Very convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Costumer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    114
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
163
70
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellent hotel choice for our visit to Washington. DC was only minutes away by car. The Hotel offered shuttle service to the metro which made for a great sightseeing day. The Hotel staff was very professional and helpful. The rooms were well cleaned and nice sized. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I did not get good sprint reception on the first floor. Definitely consider 2nd or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This HI Express hotel was great. Good front desk service and nice, clean rooms. Breakfast was pretty well stocked, considering I was there during the busy spring break period. The free shuttle to the Huntington Metro stop was wonderful and so handy! Restaurants like TGI Fridays, Applebees, Famous Daves, Chili's, and even a Krispy Kreme shop is close by. Only downside was the hot tub (no pool here) was out of order while we were there. However, the front desk gave us access to the neighboring SpringHill Suites hotel pool which pleased my kids. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sexie-Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel stay was awesome! Have two children ages 7 & 4. Was looking for an inexpensive location, with a shuttle to and from Metro stop, as well as a hotel offering a continental breakfast. This hotel offered them all. Staff was exceptionally helpful! Always able to offer advice re: Metro, Union station, local information. Hotel was VERY clean (as this is a farely new hotel), price point was great. Breakfast included sausage, eggs, pancakes, sausage gravy, biscuits, fruit...awesome selection. Hotel has a workout center and small spa/hot tub. "Sister" hotel, right next door, has a pool that guest may use. Good place for family or business purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisfied C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Overall this is a very nice Holiday Inn Express (HIE). The suite is more of elongated studio with mini-fridge and microwave but the extra space is welcome by the business traveler; price was $50.00 below per diem. Standard HIE breakfast. Hotel shuttle will take you to the Huntington Metro Stop. I was going to the North side of Ft. Belvoir and was able to take two back streets for a stress free 15 minute commute during rush hour. The hotel is a bit away from things (sort of an island) but close at the same time. Old Town Alexandria is 10 minutes (not counting traffic); the George Washington Parkway is 5 minutes, the Capital Beltway is 3 minutes away but there aren't any activities right next door. One down point; my room came with an excellent clock radio/mp3 player but the time had not been adjusted for day light savings time and there was no way for the guest to change this without a screwdriver. I mentioned this to the front desk 3 times and it was never adjusted. This is minimal attention to detail the Staff should stay on top of. The room was kept very clean. In most hotels these days you see cards asking for help with the environment by reusing your towels. That is, a towel hung up will be reused; a towel on the floor will be replaced. I always hang the towel up; this is one of the only hotels that actually did not replace it so they get points for helping the Chesapeake Bay stay just a bit cleaner. When I go back to this area I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Although road noise was not a problem, rooms on the east side are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was more than pleased with the service and value. I came in as a last minute check in and was treated like a long time customer. Special care and attention were given to my situation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a pretty nice place to stay, other than a couple things. The staff was great, the ample breakfast was served in the nice and open lobby, and the room and common areas were very clean. However, the nice big/open dining area was also quite cold. When we stayed there, it was overcast and cool outside, but the A/C was cranking in the lobby, making breakfast a bit uncomfortable if you were sitting under a vent. Also, the A/C in the room was a bit off, perhaps because of the thermostat. It would get really cold, and then get really hot, making sleep a bit difficult. Oh, on the sleep subject, both of our beds were quite soft, and we don't sleep well on soft beds... But all in all, this place is OK to come back to after a long day out sightseeing! Finally, its 1 mile from the Metro station :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear schoolybear,

I'm happy that you decided to stay with us, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I am sorry about the temp in the breakfast area being to cold. Your comments will be passed on tho the appropriate departments. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

^Katie
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing