We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, value priced stay for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you are looking for an economical locale to stage trips into DC, this is the place. Staff was the best. Philip at front desk great, Corey the shuttle driver great as well. Solid bfast, clean rooms, shuttle to metro (about 20 min ride to DC). I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylee12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alexandria, VA.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were visting the DC area and stayed in Alexandria. Free breakfast. Free parking. About 5 min from the Huntington Metro stop. The hotel is very up to date, clean and helpful. The staff was so nice and friendly. We were given restaurant suggestions and help with using the Metro to get to our destinations in DC. A young lady named Carmen was a sweet gem! Even though we checked in late (after 10pm) she was a energetic and personable as if it were in the afternoon. Our room had 2 queen beds & was spacious. Breakfast was nice and had an freindly attendant that was constantly refilling items. There was also a neat pancake making machine I had never seen before. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noriko b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Alexandria, VA. We look forward to serving you again.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After cancelled flights and being re-routed to DC from Philadelphia and then trying to find a hotel with the help of a friendly local we thought this is where we would be staying. Lo and behold when we arrived at 1:30 am 29th June after almost 24 hours traveling the receptionist claimed she had no booking for us and they had not taken any since 7pm the previous evening. This was despite us having a confirmation number. The receptionist was in training and hadn't a clue how to even use the switchboard telephone to call central reservations and confirm the booking number we had been given. Nor was she very helpful when we asked if there was any where else locally she know of that had availability. Even when the person who had been training her eventually turned up it made little difference he was just the same - clueless. While the hotel appeared well maintained and fairly new this did not help me. I fully intend to pursue this matter with holiday inn group.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank JimMallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There’s no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. That’s our goal.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future here at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked 9 consecutive nights at various Holiday Inn Express hotels as part of our round trip from Toronto down to the Washington DC/Philadelphia area and back...

We spent nights 2 through 5 of this trip at this (Alexandria Virginia) location which had a room with 2 Queen beds as we were looking for (with 4 in our party)...

We had also reserved a roll away/cot so we could 'spread out a bit' and all have a more comfortable sleep; it was waiting in our room for us when we arrived!

From the initial call to confirm that we would get a cot to the very cordial discussion about how we should set up for our 4 day and throughout those 4 days, the staff were VERY friendly; very important to us so we could feel comfortable and happy to be in Washington!

They suggested we sign up for the BIG BUS tour which turned out to be a foundation for our sightseeing... we were able to get around the capitol to many places, including many of the museums, and also take advantage of several free admissions, including the Potomac River tour, the Crime and Punishment Museum, as well as the Wax Museum...

Unfortunately, we ran out of time so we would be very interested in coming back to Washington again in the near future
- This Hotel would be our number one choice, with all the positives noted above, as well as the relatively convenient location (near the last Metro Stop on the Yellow Line - Huntington)
- We were able to take advantage of the hotel shuttle on many occasions to get back and forth to the Metro (subway)

Room Tip: There are also discounts available for stays of 4 or more nights, which were were fortunately able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We value your feedback and hope to see you in the future.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Love this hotel, it is so clean, the employees were wonderful! Every one of them from the manager, to David the maintainance person but especially Nancy in the dining room. So friendly, willing to help, answer questions. The location is so convient, loved the shuttle to metro. This was my second stay there

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alexandria. We hope to see you in the near future.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located a little further from the DC and Old Town Alexandria area than we wished but this establishment was quickly to be found a jewel and ideal place to stay.

The family, wife and two boys (ages 6 and 7), stayed at this location for three nights at the end of east coast two week family vacation. The low cost, free breakfast and shuttle, and use of the neighboring hotel's (managed by the same company not associated with either hotel) pool quickly attracted me to this Holiday Inn Express.

About half-way through our stay and while touring the local DC national attractions my wife looked at me and commented about how wonderful the hotel and staff were. Those were my thoughts exactly!

This hotel offers almost everything that a traveler would wish for. The room was one of the cleanest that I have encountered in any hotel. There is no restaurant or bar but the hotel does offer a free shuttle, not only to the DC metro stop (about four blocks away) but to Old Town Alexandria's (King Str) area where there is variety of restaurants and shops that would offer even the season traveler a pause in making their choice. Despite the lack of restaurant the hotel offers a free full breakfast each morning from 630 am to 930. Entries include but not limited to scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon and sausages, variety of muffins, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, coffee, juice, cereal, and milk.

Even with the free shuttle, clean rooms, and free breakfast the true jewel of this trip were the staff. Every member of the staff were professional, friendly, courteous, and had a desire to make your stay at their hotel the most pleasant experience you ever encountered. Phill, Corey, Kelvin, and Aesmesen were the four front desk and drivers that we experienced the most during our trip and everyone one of these four made our stay extra special. These four, along with their co-workers, went beyond what was expected of them to ensure we were experiencing the best experience possible while at their hotel. Their everyday smiles and comments showed the pride they have in their job.

My only negative comment would be the heating/cooling system used. The air conditioner is a wall based unit located at the base of the window that is controlled by a separate wall based thermostat. The air conditioner would blast out the cold air until the desired temperature was reached. It would turn off when the temperature is reached only to be triggered again when not. This blast would be full and load blast of air across the room. This would make the room sometimes unbearable.

If and when I visit DC again I will definitely make this my place to stay. Outstanding job by the staff and great economic value for any stay in DC.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Good service depends upon people willing to give their best at all times. That’s why it’s truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you. Thank you and we look forward to serving you in the future here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Alexandria.

Paul Reyes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a party of 7 travelling from Chicago to DC. We stayed at this hotel, which was just a few minutes away from the Huntington Station Metro stop. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Metro from 7am-10pm. This was a sparkly clean and very friendly hotel. The staff was excellent, especially Fred, David, Corey, Nancy and Phillip. There were school tour buses staying there while we were there, but you wouldn't know it! The hallways had a monitor that kept the kids quiet which was much appreciated! The breakfast was yummy and plentiful! Very pleased!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Julie,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review. Everyone says hello and they thank you for mentioning their service. We really appreciate it and hope you will come back the next time you are in Alexandria.

Amanda Sellman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#19 of 54 in Alexandria
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £91 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing