We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had great stay over February vacation!! The staff was helpful and polite. The room was a 2 queen suite with sofa, it was big enough for 3 people. It was fabulous to have free rides to the metro station as well. Geoge Washington's Mount Vernon is only 15
Minutes away!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much. Your title to your review is amazing. We really appreciate your feedback. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

recently stayed for 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Alexandria. The hotel itself was clean and very convenient to downtown Alexandria and to DC where we were going. They also had a free shuttle to Metro station, etc.although we did not use it, it is a nice amenity to have at your disposal. I really did not have any complaints but the hotel is very basic, breakfast which is included, was fine but nothing more. Have stayed at other hotels there that included breakfast and they were much better, stick with some toast or cereal and coffee. Our room was clean, free internet and free parking which all hotels in the city do not include, so that was nice. We basically only used the room to sleep, got a good rate and was easy to get around where we needed to go. Nothing spectacular but nothing really bad to say about it. Oh, and although I didn't use it they said they had free washers and dryers to use, nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sniffer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to post this awesome review. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Alexandria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Our family has stayed here twice while traveling; both times we had great stays. Its location is very convenient to I-495, from either the north or south. The rooms are nice, and the breakfast is also good. This is a great value for traveling families.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank RB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for being a loyal guest at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. We appreciate you writing such nice comments and glad to hear you like our breakfast. Please come back and see us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very new, modern and comfortable hotel. Everything worked perfectly and was very clean. Breakfast was great - especially the cinnamon rolls. We had a room in the back so it was very quiet. It faced a parklike area.

Room Tip: Get one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for a great review. We value your feedback and are happy to know you enjoyed the cinnamon rolls ;) Please come back and see us the next time you are in the Alexandria area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Whenever my wife and I go to Alexandria to visit our son, we stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and will assist in any way they can to make our stays good. The rooms are always nice and clean as is the breakfast area. We have no problems sleeping in the beds. We find them very comfortable. Nancy, the young lady that works in the breakfast area is an outstanding worker and should you need anything, she will do whatever she can for you. As I stated, we stay there every time we are in the Alexandria / DC area. It is a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for an outstanding review. Nancy was happy to see her name on tripadvisor and she enjoys when you come stay with us as well. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here to bike to Mt Vernon. Convenient to trail and Alexandria. Breakfast was good, with nice hot choices. Rooms in front are close to traffic and can be noisy. Staff very cordial and professional. Only complaint is that sheets were thin as gauze. But room was comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

NHampton

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time so write a great review. Please come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for five nights while visiting Washington, DC on vacation, last week of October to start of November, 2013. "We" was three of us - mom, dad, 9 year old son. I pored through hotel options before choosing this one, because I wanted to be able to walk to the Metro if needed. I also didn't want to pay the much higher prices for hotels that are closer to the attractions in downtown Washington. This hotel fit the bill nicely. The hotel shuttle was available to use, and out of 10 trips on the Metro from / to Huntington Station, we used the shuttle 3 times to get from the hotel to the station. The other 7 times we walked. The distance is probably about 1 mile, if you use the shortest route possible, figure it out on Google Earth in advance. We are "walkers", we like to walk, so know your own limitations and use the shuttle if you don't like to walk. The Huntington Metro Station is at the end of the yellow line - no other colors, the train can only go one direction from Huntington, so this makes it a little easier to figure out if you are new to the Metro. The Metro in general is very easy to use - check out the web site, routes, fare options, etc. in advance. We did not have a rental car, we traveled to the hotel from Ronald Reagan airport via the Metro. There are some limited restaurant options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel - if you're walking. So we walked a mile or so south to multiple dinner options. If you like to walk, you have a stroller, and you are headed south from the hotel, stick to the sidewalk on the west side of Richmond Highway, as it disappears for one short distance adjacent to guardrail on the east side, walkers can get through on the east side but maybe not strollers. If you don't like to walk - take the Metro somewhere for dinner or if you have a rental car, there are many options within easy driving distance from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean and up-to-date. We were on the ground floor (one floor below lobby) and the room had high ceilings (don't know if all floors have this) - this helped to make the room feel spacious. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good - three or so cereal options, yogurt, make-your-own pancakes, eggs, bacon / sausage, bananas, fruit juices, milks, coffees, and some awesome cinnamon rolls. The hotel has two washers and two driers available for guest use, no charge, but bring your own soap. The room had a refrigerator. The only negative to the stay was the last night (a Saturday) there was a large group of high-school age kids staying in the hotel (need I say more?), and the kids in the room above us apparently got no sleep that night - we got little ourselves due to the noise they made. The hotel staff tried to quiet the kids. We asked to be moved but the hotel was booked, no other rooms open. This is the only night of the five that we were there that the hotel was that full - all other nights had fewer guests (and no high-school age kids) and all was quiet. We highly recommend this hotel if any of the above details appeal to you. If we return to Washington DC anytime soon we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Jim

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate all the great comments. We hope the next time you are Washington D.C. you will come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £75 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing