We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First outing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kumo Asian Bistro

Kumo Asian Bistro
Ranked #125 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had previously been at this same location a few years before when it was a Chinese restaurant, but this was our first time at Kumo. They made good use of their available space, the interior was pleasantly presented, and the prices were very reasonable. The atmosphere was comfortable, we weren't rushed.

We were looking forward to enjoying their hibachi food combinations and were at first a little confused since we did not see any actual hibachi table setups. We both really enjoyed our hibachi combination dinners which were delicious and filling. My husband was looking forward to trying their sashimi. It was very impressive with three different sushi chefs preparing an extensive list of sushi and sashimi selections. There was also quite a selection of wines, beers, cocktails, including both hot and cold sakes.

Their service though is in need of improvement. We had to ask several times for someone to remove our used plates.

We will definitely go back to Kumo. We want to sample some
more of their meals and drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is the closest good sushi place to me and I love it there. It's small but they make the sushi right in front of you. I love it!

Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi, service can be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The sushi selections is outstanding, all delicious and well prepared, they have some unusual rolls, try them all, all great. The service was not so great, they forgot about us a few times, they need to pay better attention to the service. Location is somehow not so great, in the back of a parking lot with limited parking, that parking lot is always full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went here for the first time with a group of friends in June 2014, and was very pleased. I ordered the Maki lunch (spicy salmon rolls and avocado rolls) not realizing they were sushi until the item was placed in front of me. Silly, yes I know, but I thought roll and in my head it meant sandwich. Well, I have only had sushi one other time years ago and it was the worst thing I ever tasted. I did not want to be rude, and was really hungry so I ate what was in front of me. WOW am I SOOO glad I did!!!. It was so very good and I happily ate every piece of it. I would definitely go back again! Next time I want to try the Angry Dragon that one of my friends ordered and it looked so good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went with my family in a busy Saturday night, it was raining and the restaurant was full, we were the last table to be seated without having to wait. While the sushi took a long time, because of how busy they were, the rest of the food came out quickly, and the attentiveness of the staff was a welcome surprise. The food was excellent, it has been years since I've had a properly cooked edamame at my table.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Resperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kumo Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kumo Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing