We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good pizza in the heart of Old Town Alexandria”

RedRocks Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #7 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: RedRocks is located in the upper King Street area of Old Town, at 904 King Street. The 2,500 square foot space is an open floor plan with an open kitchen, spacious high-back booths, marble table tops, high ceilings and a mezzanine section for great private events.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza in the heart of Old Town Alexandria”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Old Town offers an overwhelming number of restaurants. We were in the mood for pizza and the reviews I read were pretty good. We took the free trolley there from the metro station. We arrived around 8:30 and the restaurant was full. As we passed other restaurants they were near empty, so I though this was a good sig. We waited about twenty minutes for a table. Service was good even though they were so crowded.
We decided to pass on appetizers and each ordered pizzas.
The pizzas are "personal size", just right for one person. We each ordered a different pizza.
They were cooked in a wood fired oven and came to the table blackened around the edges. Some people may not like this style of pizza, but the crust had great flavor, only enhanced by the charred spots. The toppings were pretty good and they offer a varied selection.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our pizzas and agreed we would go back there. By the time we were done it was around ten and there was still a line to get in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcgso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    132
    37
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza and Craft Beer”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

RedRocks is my go-to restaurant in Old Town. The pizza is delicious and they have a great selection of craft beer both on draft and in bottles. They have good happy hour specials, too (including $6 full-size pizzas).

The restaurant is also family friendly. We brought our 4-month-old son to an early dinner one night and the hostess was very helpful in finding us a table where we would sit with him in the stroller because he can't sit in a high-chair yet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Burnt!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The quality of the ingredients was okay but our bruschetta and pizzas were heavily charred after a long wait. Service and atmosphere were reasonable. Based on others reviews we may have just had an off night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Wood-oven Pizza”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Casual wood-oven pizza in the heart of OldTown Alexandria. Really friendly and professional service and a reasonable wine and beer list. We shared the oven roasted Brussel Sprouts with pancetta and the roasted beet salad with oranges, walnuts and fresh ricotta cheese; then each enjoyed a generously sized individual pizza fresh from the wood oven with a pleasant bottle of Montepulciano de Abruzzo. Excellent all the way around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love this place - great food that is fresh, fantastic beer selection and welcoming atmosphere. Definitely recommend this place if you're in the area and looking for great pizza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishfFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RedRocks Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to RedRocks Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing