We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Relaxing, and a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend - I booked it for it's proximity to the Metro Station, as well as the value for a King-size suite. Through Orbitz, I was able to get this room for $100/night. The hotel is located conveniently off the highway, making it easy to find. There is a walking trail along Eisenhower Avenue that many people seemed to use for running, biking, and walking their dogs. The Eisenhower Metro Stop (yellow line) is about 1/2 a mile down the road, and while we drove there, it seemed as though you could walk on the path to get there if you didn't have access to a car. Parking at the Metro stop was listed as $7 during the week, and it was free for the weekend. This lot can also be used to access a nearby shopping center and movie theater. We almost didn't notice this since it was so tucked away, but there's an AMC, several restaurants and cafes located at the same intersection as the Metro stop.

The rooms were spacious and clean. We found the bed to be comfortable, with plenty of extra blankets and pillows. The space over the heater/AC can be used as a luggage rack, and there was an additional rack in the closet. The sitting area of the room had a fairly comfortable couch where we could watch the flat-screen tv. We were hoping for a dvd player, but there wasn't one. Free wi-fi was available.

My only complaint was the setup of the bathroom. There is one small room with a toilet/sink, and a second with a sink/shower. While this is a convenient setup, both rooms are located directly at the foot of the bed, and both had the quietest fans I've ever heard, so not much "privacy" was provided in that aspect. A louder fan would go a long way towards making the atmosphere of these suites a little nicer.

Our room was on the highway side, but we didn't notice much noise. We could occasionally hear other people opening and closing their doors and talking in the hall, but it wasn't any worse than at any other standard hotel I've stayed at. I would definitely book this hotel again for our next DC trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunKissedKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

I just returned from a weekend trip to Alexandria and the SpringHill Suites Old Town Southwest, and I must say this hotel is a fine option for those traveling on a budget to the DC metro area. The hotel is conveniently located off of of the beltway (495) on Eisenhower Avenue, and is about a 3 minute drive to the Eisenhower Metro station (free parking on weekends or you can take the free hotel shuttle). It's a 5-10 minute drive into Alexandria depending on traffic. The hotel has everything one could need - breezy, friendly check-in, free parking, free (if frenetic) breakfast, and spacious rooms with comfy beds. Our room faced the highway, and noise was not a problem. I'd definitely stay here again on a future trip to Alexandria/DC, and would recommend this to others traveling to the area who wish for clean, comfortable, reasonable accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed three nights last week in a delightful king suite. Everything about the room is great--bed, bathroom, sitting area, computer work station, just all really nice. Housekeeping was exceptional. All the staff at front desk were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety making it possible to find what you want. Free parking and internet are both nice things. Complementary shuttle to nearby Eisenhower Metro station was very nice, but there are also good sidewalks which make the .7 mile walk very easy if you wish to do that. After touring DC during the day it is just a ten minute drive from the hotel to Old Town Alexandria where there are many, many wonderful restaurants to choose from on King St. (There is a great parking garage on South Pitt St with a $2 maximum after 5:00pm. Don't drive round and round looking for a place on the street, just go to that garage and make your life much easier).

Driving to DC from the South, as we do, it is very easy to get to this hotel. We got what I feel was a very fair rate by booking through the Springhill Suites website. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the Eisenhower Ave side of the building and the noise from trains was a little annoy...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel worked perfectly for us. The shuttle to the Metro Station was always available when we needed it, even though it was a busy time. Breakfast was great, though sometimes understocked. The room size (King Suite) worked well for my husband, son, & myself. I can understand how the non-locking doors in the toliet & shower rooms would be problematic for families with older kids or friends traveling together, but it didn't present a problem for us. The free parking was wonderful and the front desk staff was courteous (though a little harried - again, we stayed during a very busy time). Our room was on the train side of the building, but the noise didn't bother us. (Full disclosure: we live near tracks at home so we're used to train noise.) We were more bothered by the noise of other guests' doors slamming late into the night and early in the morning. For some reason, the room doors were really heavy and quick to slam. We would definitely stay here again - the only major drawback was that there was no pool. But there's so much to do in the DC area, we didn't really miss it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubledecker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We went away for a girls weekend in DC and decided to stay here because the hotel touted a free shuttle to the Metro station. The hotel offers free parking and a continental breakfast was included which was decent but not anything delicious. Other complained about the sound but I didn't hear anything except the teenage band kids surrounding us. The doors are not insulated at all and you can hear everything in the halls. We called numerous times to complain. We finally had to go to the chaperone ourselves and then they quieted down. The next day they did add points to my reward card but it still was very annoying. Also the shuttle does not run after 10 and there are no cabs there. We luckily saw one as we were walking. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. We also liked that the shower is in a separate room from the bathroom.

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor away from the train side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your feeback! I sincerely apologize about the noisy kids on your floor. We will ensure you are placed in a quiet room during your next visit. Our shuttle runs Monday – Friday from 6AM – 10:45PM and Saturday and Sunday 7AM – 10:45. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours and we are always available to send cabs to the metro should you arrive past the last pick up time. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just a quick overnight and I was sold at this new property. Be aware it is not within walking distance to metro or any shops. Breakfast, fitness room, staff was great. Accomodations were clean, modern and very well thought out (great use of space) Looking forward to another stay in when visiting the DC metro area.

Room Tip: Room not facing I495 is best
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Right off the beltway, free indoor parking, free breakfast, and free shuttle to the Metro and local restaurants. What more could one ask for? The breakfast is above par with separate stations for coffee, waffle making, and cereals, thus avoiding crowding. Used the shuttle several times. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes. Cleanliness was outstanding, both in the room and in public areas. I had to ask if the hotel was brand new. No, it's a couple of years old.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSAlexandriaSW, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2950 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4557
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £82 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest located off I-95 and just minutes from our Nation's Capital. Enjoy our hotel's complimentary shuttle service, providing quick and easy access to the Eisenhower Metro Rail Station, part of the yellow line. Our hotel also offers complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Tech Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing